Chemistry & Biochemistry Guide

This is the first of five books in the Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins in Organic Synthesis series Closing a gap in the literature, this is the only series to cover this important topic in organic and biochemistry. Drawing upon the combined expertise of the international "who's who" in amino acid research, these volumes represent a real benchmark for amino acid chemistry, providing a comprehensive discussion of the occurrence, uses and applications of amino acids and, by extension, their polymeric forms, peptides and proteins. The practical value of each volume is heightened by the inclusion of experimental procedures. The 5 volumes cover the following topics: Volume 1: Origins and Synthesis of Amino Acids Volume 2: Modified Amino Acids, Organocatalysis and Enzymes Volume 3: Building Blocks, Catalysis and Coupling Chemistry Volume 4: Protection Reactions, Medicinal Chemistry, Combinatorial Synthesis Volume 5: Analysis and Function of Amino Acids and Peptides This first volume is clearly divided into two parts. The first section deals with the origins of extraterrestrial and "terrestrial" amino acids and their evolution. The second part looks at their production and synthesis, including recent developments in the synthesis of ß-Amino acids. Originally planned as a six volume series, Amino Acids, Peptides and Proteins in Organic Chemistry now completes with five volumes but remains comprehensive in both scope and coverage. Further information about the 5 Volume Set and purchasing details can be viewed here, eu.wiley.com/WileyCDA/WileyTitle/productCd-3527335463

The Fourth Edition of Greene's Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis continues to be an indispensable reference for controlling the reactivity of the most common functional groups during a synthetic sequence. This new edition incorporates the significant developments in the field since publication of the third edition in 1998, including... New protective groups such as the fluorous family and the uniquely removable 2-methoxybenzenesulfonyl group for the protection of amines New techniques for the formation and cleavage of existing protective groups, with examples to illustrate each new technique Expanded coverage of the unexpected side reactions that occur with protective groups New chart covering the selective deprotection of silyl ethers 3,100 new references from the professional literature The content is organized around the functional group to be protected, and ranges from the simplest to the most complex and highly specialized protective groups.

The CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a comprehensive one-volume reference resource for science research. the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics remains a hallmark of quality. For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts.

This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926 - 1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.

In 2003, Knovel undertook the conversion of this publication into full-text searchable electronic format that makes data easily accessible. 7 most important tables were made interactive for increased searchability and user-friendliness.

This Second Edition is the premier name resource in the field. It provides a handy resource for navigating the web of named reactions and reagents. Reactions and reagents are listed alphabetically, followed by relevant mechanisms, experimental data (including yields where available), and references to the primary literature. The text also includes three indices based on reagents and reactions, starting materials, and desired products. Organic chemistry professors, graduate students, and undergraduates, as well as chemists working in industrial, government, and other laboratories, will all find this book to be an invaluable reference.

The Encyclopedia of Chromatography is an authoritative source of information for researchers in chemistry, biology, physics, engineering, and materials science. This quick reference and guide to specific chromatographic techniques and theory provides a basic introduction to the science and technology of the method, offering key references dealing with the methodology for analysis of specific chemicals and applications in industry. With a focus on emerging technologies and uses, the text contains tables and figures that cogently illustrate and clarify technical points in the articles.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. THE MOST USEFUL TOOL IN ANALYTICAL CHEMISTRY This comprehensive, up-to-date reference offers chemists and chemical engineers detailed coverage of the full range of analytical methods, including all conventional wet and instrumental techniques. It also provides information on the preliminary operations of analysis, preliminary separation methods, quality control and quality assurance, and statistics in chemical analysis. This one-of-a-kind resource presents fundamental data on: Volumetric and Gravimetric Analysis Chromatographic Methods Electronic Absorption and Luminescence Spectroscopy Infrared and Raman Spectroscopy Atomic Spectroscopy Optical Activity and Rotary Dispersion Refractometry X-ray Methods Radiochemical Methods Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy and Electron  Spin Resonance Mass Spectrometry Electroanalytical Methods Thermal Analysis Magnetic Susceptibility Organic Fundamental Analysis Detection and Determination of Functional Groups in  Organic Compounds Methods of Determination in Water Geological and Inorganic Materials Statistics in Chemical Analysis Water Analysis More NEW CHAPTERS ON: * Analysis of Indoor Air * Pesticide and Herbicide Analysis * Environmental Analysis Including Trace Updates on Processes, Tools, and Techniques

This 2nd Edition has been updated with over 40 new interactive tables which include new tables covering 503 Heat Capacity and Thermal Conductivity, 3,133 Reaction Thermodynamics and Equilibrium Constants, 854 Density and Compressibility, 13,332 Vaporization and Vapor Pressure, 185 Thermal Expansion, 377 Transport and Flow, and 1902 Electrical Properties data.

Each table is fully interactive and searchable by keyword and numeric property value. The thermodynamic tables feature an Equation Plotter that graphically represents the temperature correlation relationships and allows for easy calculation and plotting of the properties.

Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of common physical and chemical data. The information provided is broad in scope. It is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. In 2003, Knovel undertook the conversion of this publication into full-text searchable electronic format that makes data easily accessible.

The new, three-volume Tenth Edition contains articles contributed by industry experts and scholars worldwide. It comprises more than 10,000 entries and features hundreds of completely rewritten and re-referenced articles, as well as 2,500 completely new entries covering emerging technologies affecting genetics, global warming, communications, informatics, nanotechnology, and more. Internet references and print references have been updated and expanded to reflect the editors' conviction that modern students and researchers move from link to link as well as from page to page.

The Beilstein Dictionary (German/English) has been compiled by the scientific staff of the Beilstein Institute to facilitate the use of Basic Series and Supplementary Series I to IV by those Handbook users whose native language is not German. With a total of about 2,100 entries, it contains most German words occurring in the Beilstein Handbook, as well as common abbreviations, alphabetically listed with their English equivalents.