LibGuides: Biology Guide: Websites

Denison University Herbarium

This project aims to catalog and digitize all of the specimens collected over nearly 150 years in our collection.
The earliest specimens in our herbarium date from the mid to late 1800s.

Search engines: Bing

Search engines: Google

Specialized search tools

Mednar
Search engine for medical information
PubChem
Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.
Science.gov
Gateway to government science information and research results.

Biology Associations

Web resources

MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
Provides full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry

MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing

Here are a few web sites you might find useful:

AmphibiaWeb
- Information on amphibian declines, conservation, natural history, and taxonomy
Aquatic Commons
- Thematic digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments
Biodiversity Heritage Library
Inspiring discovery through free access to biodiversity knowledge.
Biodiversity Information Serving Our Nation (BISON)
"BISON is an information system that allows users to access, explore, and download U.S. species occurrence data from participating data providers."
BioRender
BioRender is an online tool to help scientists create and share beautiful, professional scientific figures.
BioRXiv
Free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences
Birds of North America Online
Birds of North America (BNA) is a comprehensive reference for the life histories of over 760 bird species that breed in the United States and Canada.
Centers For Disease Control
Great place for information on emergency preparedness, current health topics, longevity, and statistics on health related issues.
Darwin Online
Naturalist Charles Darwin writings and illustrations
Discover Life
free on-line tools to identify species, teach and study nature's wonders, report findings, build maps, process images, and contribute to and learn from a growing, interactive encyclopedia of life with 1,402,840 species pages and 799,841 maps.
Encyclopedia of Life
Evolution Resources from the National Academies
Faculty of 1000
Publisher of services for life scientists and clinical researchers dedicated to sharing scientific discoveries
quickly, openly and without barriers.
Flora and Fauna of Ohio
Flora of North America
genomics.energy.gov
Genome programs of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science
GRIN Taxonomy for Plants
Iowa State Entomology Index of Internet Resources
Life Sciences Foundation
History and significance of biotechnology
National Oceanographic Data Center
NIH - National Institutes of Health
NIH 3D Print Exchange
The NIH 3D Print Exchange provides models in formats that are readily compatible with 3D printers, and offers a unique set of tools to create and share 3D-printable models related to biomedical science.
OceanDocs
- Research & Publications in Marine Science in digital form.
OMIM
Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man
Online Courses
Over 500 free online classes from the world's leading universities.
The Plant List
The Plant List is a working list of all known plant species. It aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts).
Plants Database
- from the US Department of Agriculture
sexyplants
- a blog about plant sex, evolution and ecology (Prof. Andy McCall)
Stream fishes of Ohio - Field Guide
Taxonomy
Tree of Life Web Project
Tropicos
- Plant database
Virtual Cell Animation Collection
Virtual Human Embryo Project
To increase understanding of human embryology and to encourage study of human embryonic development.
Wallace Online
Naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace writings and illustrations