LibGuides: AHVC/EAST 333: Art and Revolution in China: AHVC 333 Class Guide

Getting Started

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Union List of Artist Names (ULAN) This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 300,000 artist names and associated information, helpful for determining multiple names for same person and for finding brief biographical information.
Off Campus Access: This resource is freely available to anyone.

Subject Areas: Art

The ULAN contains almost 300,000 artist names and associated information. This resource is especially helpful for determining if multiple names belong to the same person and for finding brief biographical information on lesser known artists.

Format: Catalog
Database Producer: The Getty Research Institute.

Benezit Dictionary of Asian Artists
The Benezit Dictionary of Asian Artists consists of more than 4,700 entries on Asian artists representing all regions of the continent, including the Middle East, and every era from antiquity to the present.

Books, eBooks, and more.

Search Summon, CONSORT and OhioLINK for books and other materials containing information about your topic. Requested items within those catalogs will be delivered to the Circulation desk in 7-10 days. If you cannot find what you need on those catalogs, try WorldCat (but remember that you will need to fill an Interlibrary Loan form when requesting from WorldCat).

OhioLINK logo

SearchOhio logo

Journal Articles & Newspapers

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Over 900,000 records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia from 1971 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: International Studies

Bibliography of Asian Studies, also known as BAS, is the most comprehensive resource for research on Asia. This database contains nearly 900,000 records pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia.

BAS includes citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs (before 1992), chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1971 to Present
Database Distributor: EBSCO
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Art Full Text (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Cites reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Indexing coverage begins 1984.
Abstracting coverage begins January 1994.
Full-text coverage begins 1997.

See Art Index Retrospective for earlier content.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window
Indexes art literature (1929-1984) covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

See Art Full Text for more recent content.

Format: Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Database Distributor: EBSCO
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations and full text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.

Format: Index and full text to Dissertations
Dates of Coverage: 1861-
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: ProQuest.

New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
New York Times articles, from 1851 to three years ago.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, U.S. History

Full page images of the New York Times newspaper, dating from 1851 to three years ago.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1851-three years ago (moving wall)
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of The Times of London. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, History, Political Science, Theatre

The complete digital edition of The Times (London), 1785 to 2019.

Search using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.

The entire weekday newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

For more coverage, see also the "Sunday Times (London), 1822-2016."

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1785 - 2019
Database Producer: Gale
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.

CNKI: China Knowledge Resource Integrated Database
Open access database for Chinese-language articles.

Museums & Exhibitions, and Image Collections

Museums & Exhibitions
Image Collections

The Allure of Matter
Virtual tours of Wrightwood 659 and the Smart Museum of Art, object chats, at-home activities, online programs, and behind-the-scenes videos and photos.
Artist Database developed by the Central Academy of Fine Arts in Beijing
Part of a directory of Chinese artists, galleries, exhibitions and institutions.
Asian Art Museum of San Francisco
one of the largest museums in the Western world devoted exclusively to Asian art
Cleveland Museum of Art
The museum has an excellent Asian collection and you can see view most objects online.
Freer and Sackler Galleries
The Smithonian's Museums of Asia Art. In 2015, the Galleries put their entire collection online.
M+ Collection in Hong Kong
M+ has four permanent collections that are rooted in Asia but defined, developed, and examined from a global perspective.The M+ Sigg Collection is one of the largest and most comprehensive collections of contemporary Chinese art in the world. It chronicles the development of Chinese art over four decades, from 1972 to 2012.
National Art Museum of China (NAMOC)
A national art museum dedicated to collection, research and exhibitions of modern and contemporary artistic works in China.
National Museum of China
China's national history and art museum
Xu Beihong Memorial Museum
An influential Chinese artist and art educator in twentieth-century China, Xu Beihong is widely known as the father of modern Chinese painting.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
A digital library of over 1.5 million images of art, architecture, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Artstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information.

Software tools enable zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

Users must log into personal Artstor accounts in order to download images.

Format: Images and Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: ITHAKA / JSTOR

Picturing Power: Posters of the Cultural Revolution
Online exhibit from The Ohio State University.
Chinese Posters
Posters from the early years (1949-1965), the Cultural Revolution (1966-1976) and the period of modernization (1977-1997).
Morning Sun
Website for the film, includes a section of images of the Cultural Revolution and of Mao.

AHVC/EAST 333: Art and Revolution in China

Related LibGuides

Fine Arts Librarian

Getting Started

Books, eBooks, and more.

Journal Articles & Newspapers

Recommended Reading

Museums & Exhibitions, and Image Collections

Search for an item in libraries near you: Enter title, subject or author

WorldCat.org >>