Online archive examining the LGBTQ community through the lens of political and social organizations.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Collections Included:
- International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
- LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
Subjects: Queer Studies, Sociology/Anthropology
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history. It ensures LGBTQ stories and experiences are preserved.
- Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940 illuminates the experiences of the LGBTQ community by examining the perspectives of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations. Records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured in this archive as well as publications for and by this community.
Materials include:
- grassroots publications
- newsletters
- publications for and by the LGBTQ community
- extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis
- newspapers from 35+ countries
- materials related to gay rights and health, including reports, policy statements and governmental documents.
Format: Archival materials, digitized newspapers and correspondence
Dates of Coverage: 1940 to present
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Online archive which accesses a vast body of original British source material, giving a gendered perspective to history, literature, sociology, and education studies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910 provides a gendered perspective to history, using primary materials sourced from British archives.
Documents within this collection include pamphlets, diaries, periodicals, letters, manuscript journals, poetry, novels, ballads, drama, literary manuscripts, and pieces of travel writing.
Many unique items are included as well, such as college records and exam papers, commonplace books, ledgers, account books, educational practice and pedagogy documents, government papers from the Home Office and Metropolitan police, illustrated writings on anatomy, midwifery, art and fashion, receipt books, and conduct and advice literature.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1450-1910
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Full text, primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history with a focus on the daily lives of women and men.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Women's Studies
Everyday Life & Women in America, 1800-1920 provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history. Materials are gathered from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library.
This database is comprised of thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Format: Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 1800-1920
Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
FEMINAE indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1990- Database Producer: Society for Medieval Feminist Scholarship. Haverford College.
A study on feminists and the feminist movement in Cuba between Cuban independence and the end of the Batista regime.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History, Women's Studies
This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women. Contains 14,315 images from the personal collection Dr. K. Lynn Stoner.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1898-1958 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the mens movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Women's history materials spanning four centuries and fifteen languages, 1543-1945.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, History
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with materials spanning four centuries and 15 languages.
The Gerritsen curators gathered more than 4,700 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time.
The broad scope of the collection allows scholars to trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of one country's movement on those of the others. In many cases, it also provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms.
The Gerritsen Collection consists of two segments: the Periodical Series and the Monograph Language Series.
Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1543-1945
Database Producer: ProQuest
Full text of some of the most significant and least-widely held womens periodicals produced from the late Eighteenth century through the early 1930s.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, Social History, Women's Studies
Historical womens periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for womens rightswoman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for examplegrew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for womens periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1786-1933 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, U.S. History, Women's Studies, People
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.
The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Format: Archival Resources
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
Sourced solely from the renowned Kinsey Institute Library & Special Collections, Sex & Sexuality provides access to collections from prominent sex researchers and sexologists.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Sexology, Gender Studies
This collection explores changing attitudes towards human sexuality, gender identities and sexual behaviors from the nineteenth to the twenty-first centuries. Investigating the breadth and complexity of human sexual understanding through the work of leading sexologists, sex researchers, organizations and personal accounts.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
The voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States.
Off Campus Access: freely available online.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Political Science
The completed collection will contain approximately 75,000 pages drawn from special collection libraries and archives around the country. Materials intended for inclusion are wide-ranging in nature: Circulars, leaflets, fliers, pamphlets, newsletters, campaign materials, protest literature, clippings, periodicals, bulletins, letters, press releases, ephemera; and meeting, demonstration, conference, and event documentation.
The collection will capture the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources intended for inclusion will be broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from the conservative to the anarchist.
In the interest of sensitivity toward the privacy of activists on the streets and in organizing communities today, the collection does not depict contemporary protests.
Format: Full Text
Database Producer: JSTOR/Reveal Digital
Online archive of domestic consumerism, featuring primary source documents from 1850-1950 that highlight the role of women, marketing, consumerism, and purchasing.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
This resource covers domestic consumerism, focusing on life and leisure in America from 1850-1950.
These highly illustrated, primary source documents showcase products and services advertised for consumers and wholesalers.
This collection provides a visual record for the study of social history, business and marketing, the role of women, consumerism, mass production, and purchasing power.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1850-1950
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
This resource offers a window into 19th and 20th century travel writing, as it documents travel to British, French, Chinese, and American destinations through the writing of women.
Themes within this collection include empire, tourism, war, politics, cultural history, nature, the environment, and spiritual enlightenment.
Format: Full Text, Archival Materials
Dates of Coverage: 19th & 20th centuries
Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
The collection examines American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century. This collection contains over 150,000 pages of fully searchable handbooks, manuals, textbooks, etiquette guides, self-help books, instructional pamphlets, and how-to books that illustrate both how Americans actually behaved and how they felt they ought to behave.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1900-1999
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Online archive of the leading women's interest magazines, from the late 19th century through 2005.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Women's Studies, Gender Studies, Social History, Art, Education, Politics, and Marketing/Media History.
The Women's Magazine Archive contains full archives of major women's interest, consumer magazines. This resource contains issues from the late 19th century through 2005.
Research fields served by this online archive include gender studies, social history, economics, marketing, media, fashion, politics, and pop culture.
Women's Magazine Archive, Part I includes complete archives of Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, and Parents magazine. These titles serve as records of the evolving assumptions surrounding gender roles and cultural norms. Parents magazine is relevant for research in education, psychology, health, and serves as a reflection of broad social and historical trends.
Women's Magazine Archive, Part II features several prominent, popular, and long-running publications such as Women's Day and Town & Country magazine. Part II also focuses on specific audiences with the inclusion of Cosmopolitan and Seventeen magazine, as well as Essence and Women's International Network News.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1883 - 2005 Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: ProQuest
Provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Women's & Gender Studies
Much of history is one-sided, focusing mainly on the male perspective and leaving women's voices unheard. Bringing women’s stories to light, the Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals. By providing the opportunity to witness female perspectives, Gale’s Women’s Studies Archive is an essential source for researchers working in Women’s History, Gender Studies and Social History.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage:19-20th centuries Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
This resource cover voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights, including key papers from prominent leaders and organizations
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College document voting rights, national politics and reproductive rights. The voting rights papers include documentation of national, regional, and local leaders. On national politics, major collections are those of Molly Dewson, Emma Guffey Miller, Sue Shelton White, Jeannette Rankin, and Jessica Weis. Reproductive rights collections are the Schlesinger Library Family Planning Oral History Project, and papers of Mary Ware Dennett and the Voluntary Parenthood League.
Subject Coverage: American History, Women's Rights, Women's History, Reproductive Rights, Political History
Contains published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, U.S. History
When completed, this database will contain published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century. The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. It is also rich in online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1840-present
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
Resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history, 1600-2000.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, U.S. History
This database is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the site seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
Women and Social Movements contains the following resources:
* Over 70 document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these document projects provide more than 2400 documents, more than 900 images, and over 800 links to other websites. They demonstrate that historical analysis is an interpretive process based on documents. Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We expect to add twelve new document projects annually. Women and Social Movements is also now accepting submissions of document projects for consideration for online publication. See below for more information.
* More than 30,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. Plans are to add 5,000 additional pages of documents annually.
* A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
* A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
* Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1600-2000
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
