Full text of 1,310 plays, by more than 200 playwrights from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean, mid-1800s to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies; Literature; Sociology and Anthropology; Theatre.
Black Drama Second Edition contains the full text of 1,310 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Once complete, more than a quarter of the collection will consists of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Alice Childress, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.
The database covers key writings of the Harlem Renaissance, works performed for the Federal Theatre Project, and plays by critically acclaimed dramatists of the 1940s.
The collection includes musical comedies, domestic dramas, folk dramas, history plays, anti-slavery plays, one-act plays, and other works. The plays explore themes including civil rights, desegregation, and a wide range of ideologies - integrationist and separatist, revolutionary and nationalist.
Format: Full Text; Archival Resources Coverage: 1850's to present Update Schedule: Ongoing Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature that were wholly or primarily in prose.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, Theatre
English Prose Drama, a collection within American and English Literature, is based on plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature that were written or intended for the stage and wholly or primarily in prose.
EPD contains more than 1,800 plays by approximately 400 authors from the renaissance to the end of the nineteenth century. Early, and where appropriate, collected editions are generally selected. If a contemporary edition is considered unreliable, a later edition may be used. In certain cases, modern critical editions are included.
The full text of each drama is included with any accompanying text written by the author and forming an integral part of the work. Selected images are directly accessible from the relevant points in the text. English Prose Drama complements English Verse Drama.
Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1280-1915
Database Producer: OhioLink
More than 2,200 works by over 500 named authors and over 300 anonymous works, from the late 1200's - 1800's.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, Theatre
English Verse Drama contains more than 2,200 works by over 500 named authors and over 300 anonymous works, from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late thirteenth century through the Elizabethan and Jacobean periods to the end of the nineteenth century.
A verse drama is generally defined as a work acted on or intended for the stage which is either completely in verse or includes significant verse content. EVD complements and extends the English Poetry database. It adds six centuries of poetry intended for the stage.
The bibliographic basis is the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. The database includes the works of all writers of verse drama listed in NCBEL and principally active before 1900. Editions chosen are usually contemporary with their authors. Masques and short dramatic pieces written primarily in verse, selected translations, works written for children and numerous adaptations are included.
The entire text of each verse drama is included, together with any accompanying text written by the original author.
Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1400-1900
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey
A multimedia anthology; collection illustrates the vibrant & diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920.
Access to an extensive collection of authoritative materials supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, Theatre
The Shakespeare Collection provides access to an extensive collection of authoritative materials supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Resources include the most recent Arden Shakespeare editions of the complete works, as well as editions and adaptations of Shakespeare's works, other works published during Shakespeare's time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosse Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference.
Format: Full Text Books Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Contains the best international scholarship in English of Shakespeare criticism.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English
Shakespeare Survey is a yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. Since 1948 Survey has published the best international scholarship in English and many of its essays have become classics of Shakespeare criticism.
Each volume is devoted to a theme, or play, or group of plays; each also contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies, and of the year's major British performances. The virtues of accessible scholarship and a keen interest in performance, from Shakespeare's time to our own, have characterised the journal from the start.
The books are illustrated with a variety of Shakespearean images and production photographs.
Shakespeare Survey Online makes all issues of the Survey, including over 90% of the original images, available online for the first time.
Format: Full Text Books Database Producer: Gale/Cengage: Cambridge Collections Online
Complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, Theatre
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare, a collection within American and English Literature, includes the complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works, from the First Folio (1623) to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6. It also includes twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries.
Format: Full Text Books
Dates of Coverage: 1623-1866
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
