LibGuides: Studio Art Guide: Studio Art Guide

Recommended Studio Art Databases

Art Full Text (1984-present) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Cites reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Indexing coverage begins 1984.
Abstracting coverage begins January 1994.
Full-text coverage begins 1997.

See Art Index Retrospective for earlier content.

Oxford Art Online

Full text articles and extensive image collection covering the visual arts from prehistory to the present.

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window
Indexes art literature (1929-1984) covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.

See Art Full Text for more recent content.

Format: Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Database Distributor: EBSCO
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Digital library of 500,000+ images, offering collections, descriptive information, and software tools to enhance use.
ArtStor Video Tutorial
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art

Artstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information.

Software tools enable zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

Users must log into personal Artstor accounts in order to download images.

Format: Images and Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Distributor: ITHAKA / JSTOR
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first.
Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images; detailed indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Art/Architecture

Format: full text
Dates of Coverage: 1895 - 2005
Database Distributor: ProQuest

Recommended Online Resources

Art 21 website
Materials devoted to the exploration of contemporary art & artists.
ArtsJournal: Daily Arts News
The site is a digest of some of the best arts and cultural journalism in the English-speaking world.
Artsy
Artsy's mission is to make all the world's art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.
Blouin Artinfo
Global source for up-to-the-minute news, information, and expert commentary on art.
WikiArt
The project aims to create high-quality, most complete and well-structured online repository of fine art.

Resources on the Annotated Bibliography

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography: The Annotated Bibliography
LibGuide from Cornell University Library
Write an Annotated Bibliography
LibGuide from University of California, Santa Cruz Library
Writing An Annotated Bibliography
LibGuide from Skidmore College Library
Purdue OWL: Annotated Bibliographies
Covers definitions and format
Purdue OWL: Annotated Bibliography Samples
Includes an overview and sample annotated bibliographies in multiple citation styles

Book-Length Annotated Bibliographies available through CONSORT and Summon:

Poague, Leland A., and Kathy A. Parsons. Susan Sontag: An Annotated Bibliography, 1948-1992. 1065 Vol. New York: Garland Pub., 2000. Print. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities.

Kreisel, Martha. American women photographers: a selected and annotated bibliography. 18 No. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999. Print. Art Reference Collection.

Studio Art Guide

Studio Art Class Guides

Fine Arts Librarian

Recommended Studio Art Databases

Recommended Online Resources

Resources on the Annotated Bibliography