Search our catalog for books and other materials containing information about your topic. Limiting to Denison will assure that you are only finding books you will be able to use. WorldCat is an online catalog of many libraries and is a resource you may come across in searches on Google.
Worldcat.org is a global catalog of library content and materials.
WorldCat.org is the web interface for the world's largest network of library content and services. Over 10,000 libraries have provided access to their records and catalogs through this resource.
If you have trouble using this link, please use jstor.org.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
JSTOR is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Formerly known as Literary Criticism Online, or LCO.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English
Literature Criticism Online is a compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Cross-searchable with the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Also features a link to the Literary Index.
Format: Full Text Journals Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English
Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC Plus combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes:
* plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
* articles of literary criticism
* full text of literary journals
* author biographies
* book reviews
* author interviews
* and images of key literary figures
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
- Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems.
- Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
- Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-Present
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Modern Language Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Literary biographies of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, People
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online includes all volumes of Gale's reference set, Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. It features comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics of more than 143,000 past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series concentrates on major literary figures with in-depth essays and related images such as manuscript pages and revised galley proofs, title pages, dust jackets and pictures from the authors' lives. The Documentary series allows for further study of major literary figures through critical and biographical source materials.
The Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series is annual compendium which includes original material covering a given year's literary highlights, including obituaries and tributes. The Yearbook provides signed essays summarizing the year in poetry, fiction, biography, drama and children's books we well as scholarly articles, interviews, biographies and critical studies covering events, organizations, works, writers and the business of literature.
Cross-searchable with the Literature Criticism database. Also features a link to the Literary Index.
Format: Full Text Journal, Reference Works Database Producer: Gale Cengage
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
