LibGuides: Neuroscience Guide: Articles

Search for articles in Google Scholar

Neuroscience Journals

General Science Journals

American Scientist
Annual Reviews
National Geographic
National Geographic Archive 1889-1994
Nature
PNAS
Science 1880-2004
(access through JSTOR)
Science 1997-present
(access through the publisher Web site)
Science News

Scientific American Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, searchable science and technology resource containing the full text and graphics of every Scientific American issue from 1845 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Geosciences, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Psychology

Scientific American is the oldest continuously published magazine in America. This database combines current issues of the magazine with a large backfile of this authoritative source of scientific and technical information. Scientific American Archive is a comprehensive, searchable science and technology resource containing the full text and graphics of every Scientific American issue from 1845 to the present.

Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1845-
Database Producer: Nature Publishing Group.

Search for articles in Subject-specific Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
16 million+ citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Off Campus Access: This resource is open access and does not require authentication.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1950 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: National Library of Medicine
APA PsycInfo (formerly PsycINFO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Keywords: behavior, psychology
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Education, Medicine

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2000 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1887 to present.

Format: Index to Journal Articles, Book Chapters, Books, and Dissertations
Dates of Coverage: 1887 to present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: American Psychological Association / EBSCOHost
BIOSIS Previews / Biological Abstracts (ISI Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more, 1926 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login. and all the numbers on the back of your ID.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies, Medicine

BIOSIS™ Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts™ with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.

When connected to the multidisciplinary citations on the Web of Science™ platform, BIOSIS Previews becomes so much more. Nearly every discovery is influenced by earlier research, both in its subject area and in related fields, and a publication can have significant influence and impact on other research after is has been published. No other platform has a full citation network to accurately and confidently connect you to the highest quality multidisciplinary research.

Subject keywords: Agriculture. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Botany. Ecology. Environment. Microbiology. Neurology. Pharmacology. Public health.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926 to Present
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Producer: Clarivate
CINAHL Plus with full text This link opens in a new window
Journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Physical Education

CINAHL Plus with full text provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included. CINAHL provides access to over 700 full text journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1937 - Present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Cinahl Information Systems / Distributed by EBSCO
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Information on health topics including medical sciences; nutrition; adults, seniors, & pediatrics; behavioral health; drug information; women's health; & sports medicine. Keywords: medicine
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Physical Education

Health Source: Consumer Edition provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary. This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Education

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection covers emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. This database includes nearly 515 full text titles and over 600 peer-reviewed journals.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Weekly.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full text access to 100+ years of anthropological knowledge from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Sociology/Anthropology

AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists.

An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), it offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.

AnthroSource provides current content from AAA's portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.

Format: Full text
Database Distributor: Wiley
SocINDEX (Sociological Index) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles, indexing & informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies

Sociological Index (SocINDEX) provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals.
Provides full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry

MEDLINE with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,370 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,340 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1965, MEDLINE with Full Text is the definitive research tool for medical literature.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing

Search for articles in Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Most popular full text online database at Denison. Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

JSTOR is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) OhioLINK This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC. Scholars can be notified by email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.

How to Set Up E-Journal Alerts
Syndicate electronic journals with RSS

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Various publishers.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Web of Science: All databases This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. You can search Core Collection, BIOSIS CItation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCR-Korean Journal Database, Medline, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO CItation Index, Zoological Record here.

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Clarivate

Search for journals

If you already have a citation for an Article and want to know if we have access to the Journal, do a Journal Title search in CONSORT.

CONSORT Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Combined library catalog of Denison University, College of Wooster, Kenyon College, and Ohio Wesleyan University
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) OhioLINK This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) includes the full text of more than 7000 online research journals covering many subject areas. Most electronic indexes available to the Ohio academic community link from article citations to the full text in the EJC. Scholars can be notified by email about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.

How to Set Up E-Journal Alerts
Syndicate electronic journals with RSS

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Various publishers.

Database structure

Right click on the image and click "View Image" to see the details.

Database search interface

Right click on the image and click "View Image" to see the details.