LibGuides: Neuroscience Guide: Encyclopedias

Wikipedia

Remember to VERIFY any information found in Wikipedia with a more RELIABLE scholarly source. Cite those sources, not Wikipedia.

Searching for Reference Books

Search CONSORT for Reference Books containing basic information on your topic. Add the expression "AND (encyclopedia OR dictionary OR handbook)" to your regular Keyword search to find this type of resource in our collection. To search for Reference Books in print in the Library Commons -3rd floor, go to CONSORT's Advanced search and select "Location: DEN Reference"

Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Library Science

Reference Universe is an updated database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.

Find the most relevant, authoritative reference works of interest to you. The best way to use Reference Universe is to simply type your term or phrase of interest and note the works that are returned in the order of greatest number of hits. Make sure you check the link to see if your library holds the work.

Format: Index to Reference Books
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Updated every two weeks
Database Producer: Paratext

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are a good place to begin your research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press
Access Science: Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of science and technology.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Environmental Studies, Geosciences, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Psychology

AccessScience is an online encyclopedia of science and technology. It contains encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news.

Format: Reference Works
Database Producer: The McGraw-Hill Companies.

Reference books

Specialized encyclopedias and other reference books such as the ones listed below are a good place to begin your research. In books such as these you will find basic material that will help you work on your topic. This is also a good place to look for a bibliography with references to primary research articles and images to use in presentations. Reference books are located on the 3rd floor in the Library Commons.

Dictionary of Cognitive Science by Joëlle Proust (Editor); François Rastier (Editor); Olivier Houdé (Editor); Daniel Kayser (Editor); Olivier Koenig (Editor); François Rastier (Editor); Olivier Houdé (Editor)
Call Number: BF311 .V56713 2004
ISBN: 1579582516
Publication Date: 2003-10-31
A translation of the renowned French reference book, Vocabulaire de sciences cognitives , the Dictionary of Cognitive Science presents comprehensive definitions in more than 120 subjects. Topics range from 'Abduction' to 'Writing', and each entry is covered from as many perspectives as possible within the domains of psychology, artificial intelligence, neuroscience, philosophy, and linguistics. The editor and his advisory board, each a specialist in one of these areas, have brought together 60 internationally recognized scholars to give the reader a comprehensive understanding of the most current and dynamic thinking in the cognitive sciences.
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 4 Volume Set by W. Edward Craighead (Editor); Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
Call Number: BF31 .E522 2001
ISBN: 0471239496
Publication Date: 2000-12-11
For more than twenty years, this indispensable resource has been the reference of choice for psychologists, researchers, teachers, and students who need up-to-date and comprehensive information in the fields of psychology and behavioral science. Updated and expanded to include much new material, this paperback is the only reference source that effectively blends psychology and behavioral science. This edition features over 1,200 entries, sixty percent of which are substantially revised or altogether new; contributions from over seven hundred experts from around the world; a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain (electronic resource) by Vilayanur S. Ramachandran (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 0122272102
Publication Date: 2002-07-04
The Encyclopedia of the Human Brain places all information in a single source and contains clearly written summaries on what is known of the human brain. Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science, this four-volume encyclopedia contains over 200 peer reviewed signed articles from experts around the world. The Encyclopedia articles range in size from 5-30 printed pages each, and contain a definition paragraph, glossary, outline, and suggested readings, in addition to the body of the article.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (electronic resource) by Bonnie B. Strickland
ISBN: 0787647861
Publication Date: 2000-10-10
'The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology' covers the entire spectrum of psychological terms, theories, personalities and experiments. The book is designed to be of use to both students and the general public.
The Gale encyclopedia of mental health (electronic resource)
ISBN: 9781414490151
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
Encyclopedia of Hormones by Helen Henry (Editor-In-Chief); Anthony W. Norman (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: QP801.H6 E53
ISBN: 0123411033
Publication Date: 2003-06-17
The Encyclopedia of Hormones is a comprehensive reference work on hormones in vertebrate, invertebrate, and plant systems. It covers all aspects of hormones: their chemical structure and biological synthesis; the major physiological systems in which they operate; the cellular and subcellular site of their action; the nature of the signal transduction mechanisms used in the hormone's action; and the biological consequences of an excess or deficiency of the hormone.