Finding Articles and Websites - ENVS 290 - Sustainable Development Goals - LibGuides at Denison University Libraries

Search for Articles

Use the databases to find scholarly articles from peer reviewed journals, often in full-text format!

If you aren't sure where to start on your topic, try searching an encyclopedia for some basic information and new keywords to try. Credo Reference can be a good starting point.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations & full text for 1,800+ environmental journals & monographs. Keywords: environmental science, ecology
Environment Complete includes full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline. Many of the resources are unique to the database, not available in any version of Academic Search or Business Source. In addition, the database includes millions of records from thousands of domestic and international journals dating back over 100 years.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Environmental Studies

Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from over 1,700 domestic and international journals, as well as over 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Web of Science: Core collection This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic info, abstracts, & references of leading scholarly science & tech journals.
Curated with care by an expert team of in-house Web of Science™ Editors, the Web of Science Core Collection™ allows you to search with confidence and explore the deep citation connections in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the Web of Science platform and the world’s original citation index for scientific and scholarly research.

A curated collection, Web of Science Core Collection contains over 21,100 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your full name and all the numbers on the back of your Denison ID card.

Subject Areas: General

Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology. More subject categories.

This database includes:Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI), Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI), Book Citation Index (BKCI), Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1945-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Reuters.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1951 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies

International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science.

This database contains over 282,000 records from over 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Only available on EBSCOhost®, 45,000 of the records are provided via a digitized backfile to Volume One of the print index. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year. For the first time, all of the bibliographic records in IPSA are now available online back to Volume One, exclusively on EBSCOhost®. This marks the first time that researchers can access IPSA records as far back as 1951. A previous backfile enhancement provided by IPSA records back to 1975, which means that now, EBSCOhost® users have access to all 60 years of IPSA records.

IPSA has provided non-evaluative abstracts in the fields of political science since 1951. Its articles are published in journals and yearbooks all over the world, including the major political science journals.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1951-
Database Producer: International Political Science Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media

Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

Web Resources

The 17 Goals
The main link to the UN's Sustainable Development Goals
NPR Climate
EPA - Sustainable Water Infrastructure
UNESCO - Valuing Water
NOAA - Climate.gov
USGS - Water Quality

Podcasts

NPR Podcasts and Shows
Use the Search option in the top toolbar
CDC Podcasts about Water
We All Live Downstream - Clean Water Action Podcast
Water Stories - by Story Corps

Google Resources

Use advanced features in Google to restrict your search to government or organization websites.

When using Google Scholar on campus, you should see "Find it with OhioLINK" to lead you to the fulltext. If you are off campus, you can have these links displayed by changing the setting in Scholar (using the gear icon). There you will see a menu on the left hand side, under settings you will see Library Links; search for OhioLINK and you can choose that as your link to the fulltext.