It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AHVC/WGST/LACS 213-01: Women Artists in the Movement
Index of over 400 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Art
Includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. Cites reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Collection of primary sources from Latinx artists in Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and the United States.
Off Campus Access: Open Access. In order to download content, users must create a personal login.
Subject Areas: Latin American Studies
First launched in 2002, Documents of 20th-Century Latin American and Latino Art: A Digital Archive and Publications Project (now Documents of Latin American and Latino Art) is an initiative dedicated to the recovery and publication of primary source materials and critical texts related to Latin American and Latinx art. The initiative addresses the endemic lag in access to documentation in the field of Latin American and Latinx art history, research, and teaching by digitizing writings by artists, leaders of artistic movements, critics, and curators from Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and the United States.
Format: full text
Dates of Coverage: 20th and 21st Century
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Distributor: ICAA
Digital library of 500,000+ images, offering collections, descriptive information, and software tools to enhance use. ArtStor Video Tutorial
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Art
Artstor is a digital library that offers coherent collections of art images and descriptive information.
Software tools enable zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Users must log into personal Artstor accounts in order to download images.
Format: Images and Full Text Dates of Coverage: Varies Update Schedule: Annually Database Distributor: ITHAKA / JSTOR
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first.
Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images; detailed indexing permits quick, efficient searching and navigation of this material.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Art/Architecture
Format: full text Dates of Coverage: 1895 - 2005 Database Distributor: ProQuest
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: Vary by title Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: JSTOR
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.
Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Web of Science is a platform consisting of several literature search databases designed to support scientific and scholarly research. of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines. You can search Core Collection, BIOSIS CItation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCR-Korean Journal Database, Medline, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO CItation Index, Zoological Record here.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Clarivate
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
- Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems.
- Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
- Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-Present
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Modern Language Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, History, U.S. History, General
Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Black Studies, International Studies
Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Over 2000 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites & Web documents, and grey literature. Women's Studies International supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1972- Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia, 1972- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies
Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1972- Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, 1970- . keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies
GenderWatch is an index to publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1970- Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.
Resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history, 1600-2000.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, U.S. History
This database is intended to serve as a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the site seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools.
Women and Social Movements contains the following resources:
* Over 70 document projects that interpret and present documents, most of which are not otherwise available online. Each document project poses an interpretive question and provides a collection of documents that address the question. Altogether these document projects provide more than 2400 documents, more than 900 images, and over 800 links to other websites. They demonstrate that historical analysis is an interpretive process based on documents. Viewers of the site are encouraged to participate in that interpretive process. We expect to add twelve new document projects annually. Women and Social Movements is also now accepting submissions of document projects for consideration for online publication. See below for more information.
* More than 30,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements. These materials have been selected by the Editors for their relevance to the focus of the website. Plans are to add 5,000 additional pages of documents annually.
* A dictionary of social movements and organizations.
* A chronology of U.S. Women's History.
* Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects.
Format: Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1600-2000
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Social Sciences, History, Queer Studies
Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content
Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1954 - 2015
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Producer: Proquest
Indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Queer Studies, Women's Studies
LGBTQ+ Source provides indexing and abstract coverage of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. LGBTQ+ Source Text covers LGBT-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works, with full text of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers. LGBT Life covers traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications plus data mined from additional periodicals. Other source-types are also represented, such as monographs and reference books, with dozens of full text monographs, as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc.
Disciplines covered by LGBTQ+ Source include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Documents are described using a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives and The Lesbian Herstory Archives. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
A digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Spanish, U.S. History
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture.
"Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," from which the collection draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960.
The collection accurately conveys the creative life of U.S. Hispanics, and sheds new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times.
Format: Full Text and Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: Colonial through 1960 Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish, History, Political Science, International Studies
Chicano Database is a comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference.
This resource indexes journal articles about Chicanos and also covers (1992 to the present) the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Chicano Database incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
Subject keywords: Art. Bilingual Education. Economics. Film. Folklore. Health. History. Labor. Language. Law. Literature. Mental Health. Music. Politics. Psychology. Public Policy. Religion. Sociology. Women's Studies.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1967 to present Update Schedule: Quarterly Database Producer: Ethnic Studies Library, University of California, Berkeley; distributed by EBSCO
Scholarly evaluations of books, articles, and conference proceedings in the field of Latin American studies.
Off Campus Access: This web site is freely available to anyone.
Subject Areas: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish, International Studies
Handbook of Latin American Studies provides scholarly evaluations of books, chapters, articles, and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. More than 1,350 social science journals and 550 humanities journals are indexed, as well as relevant books and conference proceedings. HLA covers social sciences and humanities in alternate years.
Subject keywords: Anthropology, including archaeology and genealogy. Art. Economics. Electronic resources. Geography. Government and politics. International relations. Literature. Music. Philosophy. Sociology.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Update Schedule: Biannual.
Database Producer: Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress; distributed by the Research Libraries Group.
Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border, and U.S. Hispanics (1970 - present).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. This database contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1970 to present
Update Schedule: Monthly.
Database Producer: UCLA Latin American Center
Contains primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; journals, news-feeds, articles and commentary, maps and statistics, audio and video. keywords: newspapers, primary sources
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, history
World scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean brings together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology.
The topics are presented on a country and continent level, offering deep contextualization of the subjects under discussion. The site has two components: the "Portal" component, which offers periodicals, newspapers, magazines, reports, topical essays, and data feeds, and the "Archive" component, offering archival material and primary source documents.
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin. Since 2011, LANIC has also been a part of the University of Texas Libraries as one of the initiatives that is under the LLILAS Benson Collaboration.
LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
