LibGuides: SPAN 325: Latin American Literature: Home

Historia verdadera de la conquista de Nueva España

Historia verdadera de la conquista de Nueva España by Bernal Díaz del Castillo
Call Number: Online Resource
ISBN: 9683900224
Electronic Version of the book is available in CONSORT

Print Sources

Encyclopedias such as the ones listed below are a good place to begin your research, particularly when looking for a topic. These books are also good places to look for bibliographies with references to other useful sources. You can search for others that address your topic using the CONSORT Catalog Search box to the left.

Some examples:

Hispanic Literature Criticism / DEN Ref PQ7081.A1 H573 1994 (v. 1-2)
Latino and Latina Writers / DEN Ref PS153.H56 L39 2004 (v. 1-2)
Twentieth-century Spanish Fiction Writers / DEN Ref PQ6144 .T94 2006

Electronic Resources

Critical essays, literary criticism, and general articles on aspects of Spanish literature can be found in the following databases:

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. This database contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, you will need to search elsewhere for the full-text of the articles using the FindIt links.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index includes information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. This database contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1970 to present
Update Schedule: Monthly.
Database Producer: UCLA Latin American Center
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text journal back issues in many subject areas including History and Literature. Three to five year moving walls characterize the coverage of most of these journals, meaning that the most recent years are not available in full-text within this resource.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC combines information from reference works, books, and literary journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: English

Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC Plus combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes:

* plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
* articles of literary criticism
* full text of literary journals
* author biographies
* book reviews
* author interviews
* and images of key literary figures

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
A compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals, LCO is cross-searchable with the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online and features a link to the Literary Index.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: English

Literature Criticism Online is a compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Cross-searchable with the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Also features a link to the Literary Index.

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, MLA includes coverage of literature from all over the world.
Off Campus URL: Authenticate with your full name and all the numbers on the back of your Denison ID card.

Subject Areas: English, French, German, Spanish, Theatre. Cinema

MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.

Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
- Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems.
- Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
- Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-Present
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Modern Language Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.

SPAN 325: Latin American Literature

Subject Guide

Chat With Us

Historia verdadera de la conquista de Nueva España

Print Sources

Electronic Resources