Home - ECON 407 - Applied Econometrics (Spring 2012) - LibGuides at Denison University Libraries

Scholarly Literature

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Includes Annual Reviews for Economics, Financial Economics, Resources Economics, as well as others in the natural and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Economics, Physics & Astronomy, Math, Environmental Studies, Geosciences, Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Computer Science , Law, Medicine, Political Science.

Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, Economics, and Social Sciences.

Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: Varies by title
Database Producer: Annual Reviews
EconLit This link opens in a new window
While EconLit focuses on economic literature, you can simultaneously search other EBSCO Host databases.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Economics

EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1969-
Update Schedule: monthly
Database Producer: American Economic Association
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Good place to go when you find an article elsewhere that's on target but out of date. Here you can find that initial article and link to subsequent related articles that cite the initial article.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies

Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Anthropology. Area studies. Business. Communication. Criminology. Demography. Economics. Education. Environmental studies. Ergonomics. Ethics. Ethnic studies. Family studies. Geography. Gerontology. Health policy. History. Industrial relations. Information Science & Library Science. International relations. Law. Linguistics. Management. Nursing. Philosophy. Planning and development. Political science. Psychiatry. Psychology. Public administration. Public health. Rehabilitation. Social issues. Social work. Sociology. Substance abuse. Transportation. Urban studies. Women's studies.

ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1980-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Scientific

Multi-topic Sources of Datasets

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data, covering a broad range of disciplines.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Political Science, Sociology & Anthropology

Maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data, covering a broad range of disciplines including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law.

NOTE: To access data sets, you must provide an e-mail address. Your e-mail address is used solely to provide access to the complete array of ICPSR services and support. In all other regards the information you provide will be kept in accordance with our existing privacy policy: ICPSR does not disclose, sell or transfer personal information about our website visitors, unless required to do so for law enforcement or by statute.

Format: Data Sets, Statistical Resources
Database Producer:ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan.
IPoll databank @ the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
U.S. and world public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the University of Connecticut's Roper Center.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Political Science, Sociology & Anthropology

Search and retrieve US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
In order to create a personal login with this database, please follow the instructions found here.

Format: Statistical Resources, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

United States QuickFacts
QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
SDA: Survey Documentation and Analysis
Tool from UC-Berkeley for Web-based analysis of survey data, including the General Social Survey. Click on "SDA Archive" to access datasets.
World Bank (Data)
For any indicator or topic, you have the option to click on 'Download Data.' Also, check out the Microdata Library.
IPUMS (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series)
IPUMS-USA has harmonized data on people in the U.S. census and American Community Survey, from 1850 to the present. IPUMS-CPS has harmonized data on people in the Current Population Survey, every March from 1962 to the present.

U.S. Census Bureau

The U.S. Census Bureau offers a wealth of potentially useful resources. Here are some of the more noteworthy ones:

American FactFinder is the primary tool to find population, housing, economic, and geographic information/statistics.

County and City Data Book is the most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the U.S.

Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S. (Statistical Abstracts before 2013 can be found here.)

U.S. International Trade Data includes U.S. export and import statistics, balance of trade by partner country, and state data.

ECON 407 - Applied Econometrics (Spring 2012): Home

Scholarly Literature

Multi-topic Sources of Datasets

U.S. Census Bureau

Issue-specific Sources of Datasets