LibGuides: COMM 234 Media Theory (Fall 2017): Home

Library Databases of Online Newspapers and Magazines

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
More geared toward scholarly and professional sources, but does include popular publications such as The Atlantic, Time, and USA Today. It may make sense to search Newspaper Source as well.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media

Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.

CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 200 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 300 journals.

Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as "core").

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's Studies, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
While you can run a search in the initial search box, it might make sense to go to the 'Search by Subject or Topic' menu, then click on 'All News.' In 'Advanced Options,' you can limit your search by ource type (e.g. magazines, U.S. newspapers).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media

Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

Some Additional Tips and Tools

Is there a particular publication or site that you want to focus on, and you want to see if it's available in any of the Denison library databases? Just go to Consort and change the type of search from 'Keyword' to 'Journal Title.' (And limit your search to 'Denison University' instead of 'All Libraries.')

Are you interested in a publication or site that is no longer active, or looking for an article that has been removed from a site? In those situations, it is worth exploring the Internet Archives' Wayback Machine, which regularly captures and preserves Web sites. (You'll need to know the Web sites URL, and have at least a rough idea when a particular article may have appeared.)