Academic Video Online delivers more than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
Academic Video Online delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Format: Streaming Media Database Distributor: Proquest/Alexander Street
A digital streaming video collection of unique films including current, leading British theatre productions and behind-the-scenes documentaries.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Theatre, Dance, Drama, Performing Arts.
Digital Theatre Plus is a streaming video platform of current British theatre productions as well as behind-the-scenes commentaries. This platform is one way to immerse researchers in performance while also helping to ready performing arts students for employment.
This database is comprised of 4 main parts:
(1) Plays & Productions: with 361 "filmed and audio" productions. These recordings include performances from Shakespeare's Globe theatre, the Broadway Digital Archive, the Royal Opera House, and the BBC.
(2) Practice & Practitioners: 397 interviews and documentaries with cast members, directors, and backstage crews are found in Digital Theatre Plus.
(3) Theory & Criticism: Digital Theatre Plus includes 284 written resources (6,975 pages) written by both academics and practitioners. These materials explore theatre history, theory, and technique.
(4) Teaching with DT: These resources have been commissioned, created and curated by Creative Content Producer Fiona Lindsay and Editorial Director (Higher Education) Talia Rodgers to support the teaching of English, Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies, and Performing Arts subjects from secondary to higher education. We provide resources which bridge the gap between school and university. Many of the resources below can be used across all levels from the UK to the US and beyond.
Format: Streaming Media, Full Text Dates of Coverage: Varies by production, from the 1960's through present Update Schedule: Quarterly Database Distributor: Digital Theatre Plus
Kanopy is an online, streaming video service, which provides access to over 26,000 films each year. Kanopy includes titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
Kanopy is a streaming video service that works like Netflix for educational institutions. Every year, Kanopy offers access to over 26,000 films and documentaries for educational and classroom use. Films may be browsed by subject or searched by title.
Format: Streaming Media Update Schedule: Annually Database Distributor: Kanopy
Contemporary performance films, recorded and edited collaboratively with artists.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Theater, Cinema, Dance
OnTheBoards.tv is a database of contemporary performance films that are curated and edited collaboratively, with the artists involved. Founded by artists in 1978, this group works to encourage and educate audiences and artistic innovators.
Format: Streaming Media, Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1978 to Present Update Schedule: Annual Database Distributor: OnTheBoards.tv
Citations database of articles, monographs, & reports covering all aspects of agriculture.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies
AGRICOLA provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports.
The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
Auxiliary subjects that support the National Agricultural Library's (NAL's) Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included in this database.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1970- Database Producer: U.S. National Agricultural Library.
Bibliography of the history and culture of America from prehistory to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
America: History & Life (AHL) is a comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
AHL offers abstracts and citations for articles appearing in over 2,000 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences. Coverage also includes citations to book reviews from approximately 100 major journals of American history and culture and relevant dissertations from Dissertation Abstracts International.
Subject keywords: History. Interdisciplinary Studies. Popular Culture. Multicultural Studies. American Studies. Women's Studies/Gender Studies. Anthropology. Literature/Folklore. Sociology. Genealogy. History of Science, Economics, Business, Education, Music, Art, and Law.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1964 - Present Update Schedule: Quarterly Database Producer: EBSCO
This online collection includes newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, court files, memorandums, telegrams, minutes, legal case records, and other primary source material relating to the ACLU.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History, Sociology/Anthropology
The ACLU Papers concern free speech, citizenship, race, discrimination, immigration, labor, radicalism, and related topics and complements the modules in the Making of Modern Law series.
This collection consists of two major collections, The Roger Baldwin Years and the Years of Expansion, with a myriad of sub-series.
- The Roger Baldwin Years, 1912-1950, contains sub-series with clippings and files on academic freedom; censorship; legislation; federal departments and federal legislation; state activities; conscientious objectors; injunctions; and labor and labor organization correspondence.
- Years of Expansion, 1950-1990, encompasses foundation project files on the Amnesty Project, 1964-1980; the Lawyers Constitutional Defense Committee, 1964-1976; and subject files on freedom of belief, expression, and association; due process of law; equality before the law; international civil liberties; and legal case files, 1933-1990.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1912-1990
Database Distributor: Gale / Cengage
Part of America's Historical Newspapers, this collection covers American newspapers from 1690-1922.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History
Early American Newspapers covers American newspapers through 13 distinct collections, listed below.
Series 1, 1690-1876: From Colonies to Nation: An Essential Record of 18th and Early 19th Century America. This collection includes 730 titles listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, the History and Bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820 and in additional subsequent bibliographies.
Series 2, 1758-1900: The New Republic: Early-to-Mid 19th Century newspapers. This collection includes 290 titles focusing on the period between 1820 and 1860.
Series 3, 1829-1922: From Farm to City: Mid-to-Late 19th Century Newspapers. This collection of 160 titles focuses on the period between 1861 and 1900, including the Civil War, Reconstruction, the Gilded Age, and the Progressive Era.
Series 4, 1757-1922: The Rise of Industry: Popular Press Coverage of the Nation's Economic Boom. This collection of 150 titles includes The Liberator, the New Orleans Daily Creole which was the first African-American newspapers in America, the Springfield Republican, the Gaceta de Texas which was the first newspaper in Texas, the New York Herald, and the Charleston Courier.
Series 5, 1777-1922: An Emerging Wold Power: Late 19th and Early 20th Century Newspapers. This collection of 150 titles includes the North Star, the famous anti-slavery newspaper founded by Frederick Douglass, the Steamer Pacific News which was a nationally popular publication covering the Gold Rush, Hokubei Jiji (The North American) which was the first Japanese-language newspaper in the Pacific Northwest, and the Nevada Territorial Enterprise where Mark Twain worked.
Series 6, 1741-1922: Compromise and Disunion: National Debates of the Mid-19th Century. This collection of 180 titles includes the Detroit Plain Dealer, which was Detroit's first successful black newspaper, The Colored American, which provided detailed coverage of the Amistad revolt, Argus of Western America, which was an early Kentucky paper and a strong supporter of Andrew Jackson, and the Arkansas Gazette which was one of the first newspapers published west of the Mississippi.
Series 7: 1773-1922: Reform and Retrenchment: The Rise of the 19th Century Independent Press. This collection of 170 titles includes the New Orleans Times-Picayune, which was established in 1837, and The Oregonian, which was founded in 1850. Also included here are the Courier de la Louisiane, a bilingual Creole title, Frederick Douglass Paper, the successor to the influential North Star, which was the title that marked the beginning of a separate black press, the California Farmer and Journal of Useful Sciences, a pioneer of early natural history writing, the Charleston Mercury, a strong supporter of slavery, the Savannah Republican, one of the few Southern newspapers that published throughout the Civil War, and the Southern Illustrated News.
Series 8, 1844-1922: A Nation in Transition: The Rise of the Metropolitan Daily. This collection includes the Baton Rouge Advocate, the Charleston's News and Courier, Washington, D.C.'s Daily Union, an unparalleled example of political influence in the press, and Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, the most popular illustrated publication of its era.
Series 9, 1832-1922: Protest and Prosperity: Newspapers in the Age of the City. This collection includes significant 19th century newspapers which chronicle the Jacksonian Era, the war with Mexico and Western expansion, the Civil War and Reconstruction.
Series 10, 1730-1900: Regional Pioneers: Founding Newspapers from Every American Region. This collection of 440 titles provides insight into the Colonial and Revolutionary War eras and offers new material on Westward expansion and the Early National era.
Series 11, 1803-1899: From Agrarian Republic to World Power: Newspapers Struggle for Regional Dominance. This collection of 130 titles extends the political and geographical breadth and depth of the ten previous series. Series 11 includes more successful newspapers that survived after less-popular titles died out. Also included are elusive runs of especially noteworthy newspapers.
Series 12, 1821-1900: The Specialized Press: Political, Business and Religious Newspapers of the 19th Century. This collection includes over 1,200 titles spanning 49 states and the District of Columbia. This series provides access to agricultural, campaign, denominational and mercantile newspapers as well as hundreds of short-lived newspapers.
Series 13, 1803-1916: The American West. This collection of 2,500 titles represents the largest online collection of 19th Century newspapers from the American West. Published in the 24 states west of the Mississippi, this series also includes a number of newspaper titles published east of the Mississippi for political and economic context.
Series 14, 1807-1880: The Expansion of Urban America, Daily life in the metropolis. This collection includes notable 19th-century newspapers from urban centers, and includes long runs of 48 major titles. These titles have been selected to reflect new forms of journalism that emerged during this time period.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1690-1922 Update Schedule: Irregular Database Distributor: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Online archive of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Economics, History, Mass Media
The Financial Times Historical Archive delivers a searchable run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. It includes Special Supplements and the FT Magazine.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: 1888 to 2021
Database Producer: Gale
Reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of broadcasts and publications, 1941-1996.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies
FBIS Daily Reports offers fully searchable reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications.
This database includes to following three collections:
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1941-1974
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1974-1996
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Annexes: 1974-1996
Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1941 to 1996
Database Producer: Readex
Information on health topics including medical sciences; nutrition; adults, seniors, & pediatrics; behavioral health; drug information; women's health; & sports medicine. Keywords: medicine
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine.
Subject Areas: Medicine, Physical Education
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides consumer oriented information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health, and sports medicine. Includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary. This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
During the 1920s and early 1930s, Japan progressed toward a democratic system of government. However, parliamentary government was not rooted deeply enough to withstand the economic and political pressures of the 1930s, during which expansionism and militarization became increasingly influential in government and society.
This collection contains 114,304 images from the U.S. National Archives from the U.S. State Department records on the internal affairs of Japan.
Format: Full Text
Date range: 1930-1949
Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the Japanese-American internment camps during WWII.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies, U.S. History
One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.
Although histories exist about this chapter in American history, this digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text.
Indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport and fitness, with more than 400 full text journals. Includes international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses. Keywords: athletics, medicine
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Physical Education, Medicine
SPORTDiscus provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 400 full text journals. SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and book chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses.
It covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Online archive of domestic consumerism, featuring primary source documents from 1850-1950 that highlight the role of women, marketing, consumerism, and purchasing.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
This resource covers domestic consumerism, focusing on life and leisure in America from 1850-1950.
These highly illustrated, primary source documents showcase products and services advertised for consumers and wholesalers.
This collection provides a visual record for the study of social history, business and marketing, the role of women, consumerism, mass production, and purchasing power.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1850-1950 Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
A note on research ...
It helps to keep in mind the fact that journalism relies on the first-person experience of others - essentially primary sources.
These types of stories can often be found in:
Memoirs
Biographies and Autobiographies
Diaries, Letters, and Personal Reflections
News stories that include personal experiences
As we begin our research, it helps to keep these different types of storytelling in mind.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Widely considered the top source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login; or Sign up with your Denison email (see Domain Access below)
Subject Areas: General, Education
Online, The Chronicle is published every weekday and is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academe.
The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
Domain Access:
If you want to read this resource off campus, you can sign up for an account and log in as a personal user. Follow the steps below.
Go to Chronicle.com and click on the “Sign In” link at top, right-hand side of the page.
Select the “Sign Up” tab to create a free account using your Denison.edu email address. You also have the option to sign up for The Chronicle’s free email newsletters during the registration process.
Activate your account by confirming your email address in the “The Chronicle: Confirm your email address” email
Format: Full Text Articles
Update Schedule: Biweekly
Database Producer: Chronicle of Higher Education
Indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English, History, U.S. History, General
Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), this database includes all data from Humanities International Index (more than 2,100 journals and 2.47 million records) plus unique full text content, much of which is not found in other databases. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.
Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.
Access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress, 1824 to present.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events
Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.
ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Keywords: behavior, psychology
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Education, Medicine
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2000 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1887 to present.
Format: Index to Journal Articles, Book Chapters, Books, and Dissertations
Dates of Coverage: 1887 to present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: American Psychological Association / EBSCOHost
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1950 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: National Library of Medicine
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events
Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.
Format: Digital Media Dates of Coverage: 1968- Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.
Full text access to over 1,000 newspapers published between 1690 and 1998.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
This online archive includes:
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-12
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Format: Full Text, Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1690-1998
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Search newspapers from 1880-1910 & find information about American newspapers published 1690-present.
Off Campus Access: This resource is open access, freely available to anyone, and does not require authentication.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Mass Media, Communication
Chronicling America allows you to search and read newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
It includes papers from California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia include Paris, Kentuckys The Bourbon news, Washington, D.C.s The Colored American, and DeLands own Florida Agriculturist.
Format: Full Text Journals, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Annually
Database Producer: The Library of Congress
Features more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971, features more than 130 fully searchable newspapers in 10 languages from 25 states including many rare 19th-century titles.
This online collection provides coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
Format: Full Text Newspapers Dates of Coverage: 1799-1971 Database Producer: Readex Collection: Part of "America's Historical Newspapers"
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
2. Click "Create Account" and complete the fields. Make sure to use your @denison.edu email.
3. Check your email for a confirmation message to verify your account.
4. Once you've set up your account, you can access the New York Times from anywhere, both on and off-campus.
RETURNING USERS
Once your account has been setup, you can login from any device from your computer, or your phone.
Students: Student subscriptions are valid until December 31st of your graduation year.
Faculty: Your account will expire after 4 years of access and the Times will offer to add this expiration date to your calendar when you create your account. After the expiration date has passed, please see the RENEWALS instructions below.
RENEWALS For faculty and staff (every 4 years)
Go to the link and click Already have an account? Log in here. Fill out your @denison.edu email and password. You will receive an email from NYT and you will need to confirm it. Verify your email link and login again.
FAQ
What's included with your Denison NYT Subscription?
- The Athletic (See https://libguides.denison.edu/The-Athletic), Cooking, Wirecutter, Select Games (Wordle, Sudoku, Mini)
What isn't included with your Denison NYT Subscription?
- Some items in the "Games" category, including Spelling Bee, the Crossword, and Vertex.
Any questions? Please don't hesitate to contact us at the Library: eresources@denison.edu or (740)587-6682.
Format: Full Text, Video, Online Content
Dates of Coverage: 1851 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Distributor: New York Times Company
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.
The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events
U.S. and International newspapers as well as regional business publications with TV and radio transcripts
Off Campus Access: See entry below.
Subject Areas: Current Events, Economics
Regional Business News Plus includes full text coverage from several hundred U.S. and International newspapers as well as regional business publications, providing more than 60 million full text articles. In addition, the database features more than 860,000 television and radio news transcripts.
Format: full text
Dates of Coverage:1900-
Update Schedule:
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, and the Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: All
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times and the Chicago Tribune.
These titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective.
The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1985 - Present Update Schedule: Daily Database Distributor: ProQuest
Online access to the Pulitzer Prize winning Wall Street Journal newspaper. Please note, the online edition is free to members of the Denison community; click on the "more" link below for access instructions.
FIRST TIME USERS
Welcome to Denison's Wall Street Journal subscription! Here's how to get started:
1. Click on this link: https://wsj.com/Denison 2. Follow the prompts. 3. Use your Denison email address to sign in. 4. Enjoy full access until your graduation date.
RETURNING USERS
Already signed up? Log in at this link or use the WSJ app.
RENEWALS
For Denison faculty and staff, you may need to refresh your membership annually, 365 days from your activation or last refresh date. Simply log in, which refreshs access.
Questions? Contact us at eresources@denison.edu.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 4 years ago to present Database Producer: Wall Street Journal / Dow Jones Interlibrary Loan: Not Allowed
Find more pieces about these topics or by a specific author ...
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English
Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC Plus combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Includes:
* plot summaries, synopses and work overviews
* articles of literary criticism
* full text of literary journals
* author biographies
* book reviews
* author interviews
* and images of key literary figures
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Formerly known as Literary Criticism Online, or LCO.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: English
Literature Criticism Online is a compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Cross-searchable with the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Also features a link to the Literary Index.
Format: Full Text Journals Database Producer: Gale Publishing.
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
- Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems.
- Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
- Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.
The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-Present
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Modern Language Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
This integrated research portal allows the Denison community to access all our Gale primary source collections through one interface.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: History
The Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: Varies Update Schedule: Annually Database Distributor: Gale
Full text, primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history with a focus on the daily lives of women and men.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Women's Studies
Everyday Life & Women in America, 1800-1920 provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history. Materials are gathered from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library.
This database is comprised of thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Format: Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: 1800-1920 Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories, 17th Century - present. Keywords: Native Americans
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Sociology & Anthropology, People
North American Indian thought and culture contains biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. Biographies include works on Quanah Parker, Dennis Banks, Susan La Flesche Picotte, Cochise, Jim Thorpe, Crowfoot, Peter Pitchlynn, Sacajawea, Geronimo, Hosteen Klah, Black Elk, Pocahontas, George Washington Grayson, Standing Buffalo, and many more.
Format: Archival Resources
Update Schedule: Updated semiannually
Dates of Coverage: 17th Century - Present
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, U.S. History, Women's Studies, People
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before.
The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Format: Archival Resources
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press.
Largest African American oral video history archive in the world.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Black Studies
HistoryMakers is the largest African American oral video history archive in the world. HistoryMakers provides access to over 119,684 stories from oral history interviews with 2,694 historically significant African Americans.
Format: video Dates of Coverage: current Update Schedule: unknown Database Distributor: HistoryMakers
Oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. Keywords: Ohio, war, protest
Off Campus Access: This database is freely available to anyone.
Kent State Shootings Oral Histories is a collection of oral histories related to the May 4, 1970 shootings of Vietnam War protesters at Kent State University. The oral histories include many eyewitness accounts of the event and its aftermath, contributed by people who were students, faculty members, and City of Kent residents at the time, as well as an account by an Ohio National Guardsman. The oral histories preserve personal histories of and individual reactions to the shootings.
The oral histories are part of Kent State's May 4 Collection, created to assist students, faculty, staff, community members and other researchers in locating information sources related to the Kent State shootings and their aftermath.
Apple's free QuickTime player is required to listen to the audio files. Written transcripts are also available for many of the oral histories.
The Kent State oral histories are stored in the Historic & Archival Digital Media collections of the OhioLINK Digital Media Center.
Format: Digital Media, Archival Resources Database Producer: Special Collections and Archives at Kent State University Libraries & Media Services.
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History
The Presidential Recordings, Digital Edition currently consists of three series: the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House Tapes.
Described as "a rich and engaging resource featuring annotated transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon White House tapes," this database of audiotapes includes specific coverage of the LBJ Administration, including tapes of discussions on the War on Poverty, 1964 (edited by Guian McKee); Civil Rights, 1964 (edited by Kent Germany); and Vietnam, 1964-65 (edited by Marc Selverstone and David Coleman).
The entire resource is fully searchable, accessible via a timeline view, and each transcript page includes the original audio. Parts of this resource are open access and available to all, while certain collections, particularly the LBJ Tapes are available to the Denison community through our subscription.
Format: Full text Dates of Coverage: 1962-1973 Update Schedule: Regularly Database Producer: University of Virginia Press.
Includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, History
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period." In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposs of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Includes 263,207 images from the collections of Cornell University, University of Pennsylvania, and others.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1500-1930 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
