COMM 404: Media & the Presidency (Fall 2016) - Communication - Old Course Guides - LibGuides at Denison University Libraries

News Sources/News Coverage

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
In addition to many newspapers, also includes broadcast news transcripts.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Includes Akron Beacon Journal (since 1997), Columbus Dispatch (since 2003), Lima News (since 2002), Middletown Journal (since 2002), Willoughby News-Herald (since 2001), and Youngstown Vindicator (since 2001).
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media

Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events

Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.

Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.

Format: Digital Media
Dates of Coverage: 1968-
Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.

Current and Past Presidents - In Their Own Words

American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project is the only online resource that has consolidated, coded, and organized into a single searchable database:
- Messages & Papers of the Presidents: 1789-1913
- The Public Papers of the Presidents: 1929-2007 & 2010
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents: 1977-2009
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents: 2009-2012
FDsys
The Government Publishing Office's (GPO) Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to government information, including Congressional bills, hearings, reports, and other documents.

Presidential Candidate Speeches/Appearances, and Where They Stand on the Issues

C-SPAN
Search the Video Library by people to access video of current and pastpresidents' speeches and other public appearances.
ProCon.org | 2016 Election
Includes compilations of where the 2020 presidential candidates stand on the issues.
Project Vote Smart
Provides a wealth of information on elected officials and candidates for Congress, statewide office, and the state legislature: biographical, voting record on key issues, issue positions (response to candidate questionnaire), interest group ratings, endorsements, and campaign finances.

Presidential TV Ads

Political TV Ad Archive
A project of the Internet Archive, the site provides a searchable, viewable, and shareable online archive of 2016 primary election political TV ads.
Living Room Candidate
Presidential campaign commercials dating back to the 1950's.

Resources for Literature Review

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Includes Annual Review of Political Science.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Economics, Physics & Astronomy, Math, Environmental Studies, Geosciences, Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Computer Science , Law, Medicine, Political Science.

Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, Economics, and Social Sciences.

Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: Varies by title
Database Producer: Annual Reviews
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media

Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields.

CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 400 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 200 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 300 journals.

Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as "core").

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1951 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies

International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science.

This database contains over 282,000 records from over 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Only available on EBSCOhost®, 45,000 of the records are provided via a digitized backfile to Volume One of the print index. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year. For the first time, all of the bibliographic records in IPSA are now available online back to Volume One, exclusively on EBSCOhost®. This marks the first time that researchers can access IPSA records as far back as 1951. A previous backfile enhancement provided by IPSA records back to 1975, which means that now, EBSCOhost® users have access to all 60 years of IPSA records.

IPSA has provided non-evaluative abstracts in the fields of political science since 1951. Its articles are published in journals and yearbooks all over the world, including the major political science journals.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1951-
Database Producer: International Political Science Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR

Political Cartoons and Other Unique Forms of Communication

Association of American Editorial Cartoonists
Can search for cartoons by keyword and/or cartoonist.
Cartoon Bank
From The New Yorker magazine.

ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Includes many periodicals, magazines and newspapers; can limit search to editorial cartoons.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Arts, Business, Dissertations & Theses, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, News & Newspapers, Science & Technology, Social Sciences

This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually. ProQuest Open Access Dissertations & Theses (PQDT Open) is freely available via this platform.

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: ProQuest

"Watchdogs"

Ever watch a campaign commercial, or hear a candidate make an assertion, and wonder, "Is that true?" If you have, then you'll probably want to check out these two sites, which monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players, including the presidential candidates.

FactCheck.org

PolitiFact

Fact Checker (Washington Post)

Other Useful Sites/Resources

Internet Archive - Wayback Machine
Find earlier iterations of a given Web site. (Note: You'll need to know the URL.)
Capitol Words
Explores the most popular words and phrases used by legislators in the U.S. Congress; searchable by state, date (back to 1996), and politician.
Encyclopedia of Political Communication (2008)
Discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. Focuses on important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites.
Encyclopedia of Politics, the Media, and Popular Culture
Provides a sweeping survey of the historic and ongoing interplay between politics, the media, and popular culture.
MIT Media Lab's Electome Project
Analyzing Twitter conversations about the presidential election.
P2016 Race for the White House
Social Media Analytics Command Center (SMACC) at Illinois State University
Examining the presidential debates through public conversations from social media outlets, popular websites, and major blogs.

Background Information on Legislation or Policy Issues

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, U.S. History, Law, Political Science

CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.

Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and continuously online by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.

Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1991-Present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: CQ Press, a division of SAGE Publications.
Legislative Insight (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
A federal legislative history service containing compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Government, History, Political Science, International Studies

ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws. ProQuest Legislative Insight Major Laws is a subset of ProQuest Legislative Insight with content selected to support entry-level study of U.S. History, Political Science, and Government.

ProQuest legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.

Format: Full text Resources
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: ProQuest
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
Access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress, 1824 to present.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events

Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.

ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present

Format: Archival Resources
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: ProQuest

Polling

IPoll databank @ the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion, 1935 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Political Science, Sociology & Anthropology

Search and retrieve US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
In order to create a personal login with this database, please follow the instructions found here.

Format: Statistical Resources, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

Pew Research Center - U.S. Politics & Policy
The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
Real Clear Politics
For the latest presidential election polls.