ECON 240 Economics of Poverty (Spring 2017) - Economics - Old Course Guides - LibGuides at Denison University Libraries

Books/Topic Overview Resources

Poverty in America: A Handbook by John Iceland
ISBN: 9780520276369
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Rich and Poor in America by Geoffrey Gilbert
ISBN: 9781598840575
Publication Date: 2008-05-21
Changing Poverty, Changing Policies by Maria Cancian; Sheldon Danziger
ISBN: 9780871543103
Publication Date: 2009-08-27
Child Poverty and Inequality by Duncan Lindsey (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195305449
Publication Date: 2008-09-12
The Colors of Poverty: why racial and ethnic disparities persist by Ann Chih Lin; David R. Harris
ISBN: 9780871545398
Publication Date: 2008-08-14
The Invisible Safety Net: Protecting the Nation's Poor Children and Families by Janet M. Currie
ISBN: 0691122687
Publication Date: 2006-03-26
Poverty Traps by Karla Hoff (Editor); Samuel Bowles (Editor); Steven N. Durlauf (Editor)
ISBN: 9780691125008
Publication Date: 2006-03-19
Promises I Can Keep: why poor women put motherhood before marriage by Kathryn Edin; Maria Kefalas
ISBN: 0520241134
Publication Date: 2005-03-08
Understanding Poverty by Sheldon H. Danziger; Robert H. Haveman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780674008762
Publication Date: 2002-04-01
Whither Opportunity?: rising inequality, schools, and children's life chances by Greg J. Duncan; Richard J. Murnane
ISBN: 9780871543721
Publication Date: 2011-09-01

Sources for Scholarly Literature

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Publishes authoritative, analytic reviews within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences fields.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Economics, Physics & Astronomy, Math, Environmental Studies, Geosciences, Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Computer Science , Law, Medicine, Political Science.

Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, Economics, and Social Sciences.

Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: Varies by title
Database Producer: Annual Reviews
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations and full text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.

Format: Index and full text to Dissertations
Dates of Coverage: 1861-
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: ProQuest.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association, 1969- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Economics

EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1969-
Update Schedule: monthly
Database Producer: American Economic Association

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Online full text access to working papers of NBER researchers from November 1994 through the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Economics

NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Nearly 700 NBER Working Papers are published each year, and many subsequently appear in scholarly journals. The NBER Working Paper database provides online full text access to working papers from November 1994 through the present.

Format: Statistical Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1994-
Database Producer: National Bureau of Economic Research.
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references of over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals, 1980- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies

Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Anthropology. Area studies. Business. Communication. Criminology. Demography. Economics. Education. Environmental studies. Ergonomics. Ethics. Ethnic studies. Family studies. Geography. Gerontology. Health policy. History. Industrial relations. Information Science & Library Science. International relations. Law. Linguistics. Management. Nursing. Philosophy. Planning and development. Political science. Psychiatry. Psychology. Public administration. Public health. Rehabilitation. Social issues. Social work. Sociology. Substance abuse. Transportation. Urban studies. Women's studies.

ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1980-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Scientific

Governmental Agencies

Administration for Children and Families (U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services)
Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services)
Congressional Budget Office - Poverty and Income Security
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Need information on the unemployment rate, salary levels, consumer or producer prices? The Bureau of Labor Statistics is a great place to start.
U.S. Census Bureau - Income & Poverty
U.S. House of Representatives, Committee on Ways and Means, 2016 Green Book
Background material and data on the programs within the committee's jurisdiction.
White House Policy Issues
Page unavailable as of Feb. 3rd, but provides link to Obama White House Archives.

Statistical Sources

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
A data download and visualization tool.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Data Analytics, Political Science, Psychology, History, Social Science

This database is formerly known as Data Planet. Before that, it was known as Sage Stats.
Explore a vast collection of U.S. and international statistics in Data Planet. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects – including business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

Format: Statistical Data
Database Producer: Sage
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Statistics, Economics, Political Science, International Studies

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative, comprehensive one-volume summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Format: Statistical Resources
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Producer: ProQuest

Explore Census Data (U.S. Census Bureau)
QuickFacts (Census Bureau)
Provides statistics (population, age and sex, race, etc.) for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States (pre-2013)

Think Tanks

Often referred to as public policy or research institutes, think tanks often bridge the gap between academic ideas and real-world problems or concrete public policy issues. Just be mindful that, while usually described as independent and/or non-partisan, they can't help but have a political or ideological point of view.

Brookings Institution - Poverty
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level.
Center for Law and Social Policy
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities
The Center was founded in 1981 to analyze federal budget priorities, with particular emphasis on the impact of various budget choices on low-income Americans.
Economic Policy Institute
Founded in 1986 "to broaden the discussion about economic policy to include the interests of low- and middle-income workers.”
Hamilton Project
Heritage Foundation | Poverty and Inequality
Manhattan Institute for Policy Research
The institute is focused on a wide range of municipal issues of interest to officials both in New York and in other cities throughout the United States.
MDRC
Russell Sage Foundation
Spotlight on Poverty and Opportunity
Through the ongoing exchange of ideas, research and data, Spotlight seeks to inform the policy debate about reducing poverty and increasing opportunity in the United States.
Urban Institute
Formed in the 1960’s to monitor and evaluate Great Society programs, the institute focuses on a variety of issue areas, including poverty, housing, education, employment, crime and justice, and health care.

Academic Research Centers

Fragile Families and Child-Well Being (Princeton University)
The Fragile Families & Child Wellbeing Study is following a cohort of nearly 5,000 children born in large U.S. cities between 1998 and 2000 (roughly three-quarters of whom were born to unmarried parents).
Institute for Research on Poverty (University of Wisconsin)
IRP is a nonpartisan research institution dedicated to producing and disseminating rigorous evidence to inform policies and programs to combat poverty, inequality, and their effects in the United States.
Poverty Solutions
Poverty Solutions is a University of Michigan initiative that aims to prevent and alleviate poverty through action-based research that informs policymakers, community organizations, government entities, and practitioners about what works in confronting poverty.
National Center for Children in Poverty (Columbia University)
NCCP conducts research and translates the findings into actionable recommendations that advocates and policymakers use to improve the lives and futures of low-income children and their families.
Stanford Center on Poverty and Inequality
Includes Pathways: A Magazine on Poverty, Inequality, and Social Policy.
UC Davis Center for Poverty Research
The UC Davis Center for Poverty Research mission is to facilitate non-partisan academic research on poverty in the U.S., disseminate this research, and train the next generation of poverty scholars.

Additional Resources/Tools

Have you found an article on your topic, and not sure how important or significant it is? In addition to checking the Social Sciences Citation Index to see how often the article has been cited by scholars, the first two databases can help you answer that question.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
How often has someone been interviewed or quoted in various news sources?
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new window
How often has someone (or the organization someone is associated with) testified before Congress on this or a related issue?
Go to 'Advanced Search' and then select 'Hearings.' Limit search to 'Witness' or 'Witness Affiliation.'
Also provides access to Congressional Research Service reports.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events

Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.

ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present

Format: Archival Resources
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: ProQuest
Summon This link opens in a new window
Search our library catalog and library databases, all at the same time. A good place to go if you have, say, the title of an article, but don't know where to find it.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subjects: All

Summon is a search interface that indexes the metadata and full text available in the Library databases and catalog. It is a one-stop search tool for searching almost 500 databases at once and links users to full text resources.

Searches may be refined by using the filters available in this interface.

Format: Full Text, Metadata, and Catalog Records
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Distributor: ProQuest

Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test
The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on your situation or need.
RefWorks
RefWorks allows you to manage and organize your citations and generate a bibliography. To create a RefWorks account, provide your Denison e-mail address and create a password. Once you've created an account, go to RefWorks to get started. To learn more about RefWorks, watch our RefWorks tutorial video here