Skip to main content

University Archives & Special Collections

Website for the Denison University Archives & Special Collections

Collection Development Scope

Archival materials are in a wide variety of formats and should be unique, one of a kind, and original. They are mostly papers, photographs, scrapbooks, and historic artifacts, but we also collect audio recordings, video recordings, digital files, microfilm, and more.  Please see the collecting scope below to determine whether or not you may want to pursue donating your material to the Archives.

What we collect:

  • Items published by the University 
    Example: The Denisonian, The Adytum yearbooks, catalogs, university histories, magazines, press releases
     
  • Records from administrative offices, academic departments, and functions of the University 
    Example: annual reports, administrative memos and letters, meeting minutes, committee reports, Board of Trustees materials
     
  • Items that document student life and organizations
    Example: The Bullsheet, photographs, student organization material, Greek material, posters for events on campus, class reunion materials
     
  • Personal papers, professional files, or manuscripts related to notable alumni, faculty, and administrators
    Example: The Papers of Hal Holbrook, The Papers of George Stibitz, The Papers of The Wallace Chessman
     
  • Materials related to the history of affiliated organizations, consortia, and institutions 
    Examples of these types of institutions: Granville Female Seminary, Granville Female Academy/College, Young Ladies Institute, Shephardson College, Doane Academy, and Granville Female Academy/College, the Five Colleges of Ohio, the Great Lakes College Association, and the Ohio Baptist Education Society
     
  • Biographical, bibliographical, or publicity materials related to notable or distinguished alumni, faculty, staff, and administrators
    Example: news articles, obituaries, awards, eulogies, speeches 

 

What we do not collect:

  • Museum objects, fine art, and textiles that are unrelated to Denison
  • Student academic work that does not relate to the history of Denison or to pre-determined curricula
  • Duplicate items, including scanned or photocopied materials
  • Materials without a direct connection to Denison University or its affiliated organizations or previous institutions.

 

If you have an item that you aren't quite sure about, please feel free to contact the University Archivist & Special Collections Librarian to discuss it. 

Final decisions on accepting materials will be at the discretion of the University Archivist & Special Collections Librarian.

Our Special Collections include rare books, artists books, zines, and more. Usually our main method of acquiring volumes for our Special Collections is via donations from faculty, staff, alumni, and friends of Denison University. Please contact the University Archivist & Special Collections staff for more information about our acquisition process.

Currently, we are actively collecting in the following areas:

  • Artist's Books
  • Zines
  • Medieval manuscripts and incunables
  • Leaves with an Otto F. Ege provenance
  • Historic volumes relating to Denison or the Granville/Licking County region
  • Publications written by Denison University
  • Publications written about Denison University or its faculty, staff, or alumni.
  • Historic publications relating to Ohio Baptists
Loading ...

Donating materials

Interested in giving historical materials to be included in the Archives & Special Collections?  Here's what to expect:

  1. First, please email us a description of the materials and a photograph or two. 
  2. We'll discuss whether or not it is a good fit for our collections or if it may be suited for a different type of repository.
  3. If it is deemed appropriate to add to our collections, we'll begin talking about access and use of the materials and special projects like digitization if needed.
  4. We will prepare a form called a Deed of Gift for you to sign that will describe the materials in full and explain that you are giving the materials to the University Archives and Special Collections.

Denison University Libraries, 400 West Loop, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer