Home - W 101-22 Voices of the Earth (Bulford - Fall 2015) - LibGuides at Denison University Libraries

Image

Vegetable sunset. Image by Thomas Euler, from Flickr under Creative Commons (http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2651/3835206644_f082a50c99.jpg)

Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are a good place to begin your research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press

Web resources

Here are a few web sites you might find useful:

U.S. Forest Service
MedlinePlus
USDA - U.S. Department of Agriculture
EPA - U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Energy.gov - U.S. Department of Energy
USGS - U.S. Geological Survey
FDA - U.S. Food and Drug Administration
FWS - U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
NPS - National Park Service
Field Guide to the Modern US Environmental Movement - Infographic

Catalogs

Search Summon or CONSORT for books and other materials containing information about your topic.

Databases

The databases below will be particularly useful for this Course. For other examples explore a different Subject Guide.

If you need information about authors or literary works, try some of our Literary Criticism Databases:

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books & articles on modern languages, literature, folklore, & linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
Off Campus URL: Authenticate with your full name and all the numbers on the back of your Denison ID card.

Subject Areas: English, French, German, Spanish, Theatre. Cinema

MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics.

Coverage includes literature from all over the world.
- Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems.
- Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
- Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.

The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926-Present
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Modern Language Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
Compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Formerly known as Literary Criticism Online, or LCO.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: English

Literature Criticism Online is a compilation of literary commentary, both scholarly and popular, from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Cross-searchable with the Dictionary of Literary Biography Online. Also features a link to the Literary Index.

Format: Full Text Journals
Database Producer: Gale Publishing.

Try some of the Multidisciplinary Databases for more general information.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: All Subjects

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.

Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.

If you need more depth in your topic, try our Science/Social Science databases:

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations & full text for 1,800+ environmental journals & monographs. Keywords: environmental science, ecology
Environment Complete includes full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline. Many of the resources are unique to the database, not available in any version of Academic Search or Business Source. In addition, the database includes millions of records from thousands of domestic and international journals dating back over 100 years.

Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Environmental Studies

Environment Complete covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from over 1,700 domestic and international journals, as well as over 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Keywords: sustainability, environment
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Environmental Studies

GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

Format: Index, abstracts and full text of articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geoscience articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, & theses, 1785-present. Keywords: geology, geosciences, geological
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies, Geosciences

GeoRef provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. The database indexes geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.

GeoRef is also available from GeoScienceWorld. Click here

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1785-present
Update Schedule: Monthly.
Database Producer: American Geological Institute / EBSCOHost
BIOSIS Previews / Biological Abstracts (ISI Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more, 1926 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login. and all the numbers on the back of your ID.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies, Medicine

BIOSIS™ Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts™ with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings). Specialized indexing helps you discover more accurate, context-sensitive results.

When connected to the multidisciplinary citations on the Web of Science™ platform, BIOSIS Previews becomes so much more. Nearly every discovery is influenced by earlier research, both in its subject area and in related fields, and a publication can have significant influence and impact on other research after is has been published. No other platform has a full citation network to accurately and confidently connect you to the highest quality multidisciplinary research.

Subject keywords: Agriculture. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Botany. Ecology. Environment. Microbiology. Neurology. Pharmacology. Public health.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1926 to Present
Update Schedule: unknown
Database Producer: Clarivate
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Citations database of articles, monographs, & reports covering all aspects of agriculture.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Environmental Studies

AGRICOLA provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports.

The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.

Auxiliary subjects that support the National Agricultural Library's (NAL's) Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included in this database.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1970-
Database Producer: U.S. National Agricultural Library.
SocINDEX (Sociological Index) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles, indexing & informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies

Sociological Index (SocINDEX) provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
16 million+ citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Off Campus Access: This resource is open access and does not require authentication.

Subject Areas: Medicine, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1950 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: National Library of Medicine
APA PsycInfo (formerly PsycINFO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, 1887 to present. Keywords: behavior, psychology
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Education, Medicine

PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 2000 periodicals written in over 35 languages. Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1887 to present.

Format: Index to Journal Articles, Book Chapters, Books, and Dissertations
Dates of Coverage: 1887 to present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: American Psychological Association / EBSCOHost
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia, 1972- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies

Gender Studies Database combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1972-
Database Producer: NISC. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.

Subject Guide

Yiming Guo

Email Me

Contact:

William Howard Doane Library
Room 110

740-587-5714

Subjects: Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Data Analytics, Earth and Environmental Sciences, Food & Agriculture, Government Information, Mathematics, Medicine, Neuroscience, OER, Physics, Psychology, Writing Program

Citing sources

It is essential to cite your sources of information when writing an assignment or research project. For this course you will use the MLA style. Use the link below to find examples.

Citation Help - MLA Style

W 101-22 Voices of the Earth (Bulford - Fall 2015): Home