LibGuides: Environmental Studies Guide: Encyclopedias

Wikipedia

Remember to VERIFY any information found in Wikipedia with a more RELIABLE scholarly source. Cite those sources, not Wikipedia.

Searching for Reference Books

Search CONSORT for Reference Books containing basic information on your topic. Add the expression "AND (encyclopedia OR dictionary OR handbook)" to your regular Keyword search to find this type of resource in our collection. To search for Reference Books in print in the Library Commons -3rd floor, go to CONSORT's Advanced search and select "Location: DEN Reference"

Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks are a good place to begin your research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 500 online reference sources on every major subject.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Credo Reference is an online reference solution for learners and librarians. Offering more than 500 highly-regarded titles from over 70 publishers, Credo Reference covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference.

Format: Full Text Books, Reference Sources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Ongoing
Database Producer: Credo Reference
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Oxford Reference combines Oxford Reference Online and Oxford Digital Reference Shelf to provide full text of 400 dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. Link directly to:

* Encyclopedia
* Maps
* Names & Places
* Quotations

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Oxford University Press
Access Science: Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of science and technology.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Environmental Studies, Geosciences, Medicine, Physics & Astronomy, Psychology

AccessScience is an online encyclopedia of science and technology. It contains encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news.

Format: Reference Works
Database Producer: The McGraw-Hill Companies.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Library Science

Reference Universe is an updated database of article titles and back-of-the-book indexes for subject encyclopedias and reference works.

Find the most relevant, authoritative reference works of interest to you. The best way to use Reference Universe is to simply type your term or phrase of interest and note the works that are returned in the order of greatest number of hits. Make sure you check the link to see if your library holds the work.

Format: Index to Reference Books
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Updated every two weeks
Database Producer: Paratext

Additional sources

Specialized encyclopedias and other reference books such as the ones listed below are a good place to begin your research. In books such as these you will find basic material that will help you work on your topic. This is also a good place to look for a bibliography with references to primary research articles and images to use in presentations. Many of our reference books are electronic, but print reference books are located on the 1st floor stacks.

Beacham Guide to Endangered Species of North America by Walton Beacham; Frank V. Castronova; Suzanne Sessine
ISBN: 9780787676919
Publication Date: 2003
This guide presents extensive data on the habitats and ecosystems of more than 1,200 species identified as endangered or threatened by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife service.
Environment Encyclopaedia by De, Anil Kumar
ISBN: 9387788334
Publication Date: 2019
The book has been divided into 26 chapters (A–Z) covering key terms and concepts with profuse illustrations and figures plus addenda, supplement I, appendix and index. The mission is to enlighten both the teachers and students and practising environmentalists in colleges, universities, IITs etc.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science, Volume 1 by Shalinee Naidoo
ISBN: 9781773613086
Publication Date: 2019
This Volume highlights new and emerging uses of stable isotope analysis in a variety of ecological disciplines; this volume presents a variety of scientific ecological issues and uses these to examine a range of environmental problems while considering potential engineering, scientific, and managerial solutions.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science, Volume 2 by Shalinee Naidoo
ISBN: 9781773613093
Publication Date: 2019
This volume offers important insights and a unique perspective in ecosystems aims to maintain healthy and resilient forest ecosystems by focusing on a reduction of differences between natural and managed landscapes to ensure long-term maintenance of ecosystem functions and thereby retaining biodiversity.
A Guide to U. S. Environmental Law by Arden Rowell; Josephine van Zeben
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780520295230
Publication Date: 2021-03-02
Written by two internationally respected authors, this unique primer distills the environmental law and policy of the United States into a practical guide for a nonlegal audience, as well as for lawyers trained in other regions.
The Wellbeing of Nations by Paul Allin; David J. Hand
ISBN: 9781118916209
Publication Date: 2014
The authors examine initiatives from around the world, using the UK 'measuring national wellbeing programme' as a case study throughout the book, along with case studies drawn from other countries, as well as discussion of the position in some countries not yet drawn into the national wellbeing scene.