Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Spanish, History, Political Science, International Studies
Chicano Database is a comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database for Chicano reference.
This resource indexes journal articles about Chicanos and also covers (1992 to the present) the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Chicano Database incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, a comprehensive resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature.
Subject keywords: Art. Bilingual Education. Economics. Film. Folklore. Health. History. Labor. Language. Law. Literature. Mental Health. Music. Politics. Psychology. Public Policy. Religion. Sociology. Women's Studies.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1967 to present
Update Schedule: Quarterly
Database Producer: Ethnic Studies Library, University of California, Berkeley; distributed by EBSCO
Full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Criminal Justice
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text's coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: Varies Update Schedule: Regularly Database Producer: EBSCO
Contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations and full text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.
Format: Index and full text to Dissertations Dates of Coverage: 1861- Update Schedule: Daily. Database Producer: ProQuest.
Full text, primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history with a focus on the daily lives of women and men.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Women's Studies
Everyday Life & Women in America, 1800-1920 provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history. Materials are gathered from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library.
This database is comprised of thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, emphasizing conduct of life and domestic management literature, the daily lives of women and men, and contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
Format: Archival Materials Dates of Coverage: 1800-1920 Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, 1970- . keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Women's Studies, Queer Studies
GenderWatch is an index to publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1970- Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.
Index that cites articles from English-language periodicals including scholarly journals and specialized magazines, 1907-1984.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Humanities, Social Sciences
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilsons International Index is also included.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1907 - 1984 Database Producer: EBSCO / H.W. Wilson.
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press and partner presses, including both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Use your Denison ID.
Subject Areas: Humanities, Social Sciences, Economics, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion.
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press and partner presses.
Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.
These books are also available through the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.
Partner presses with selected content available on the Oxford Scholarship Online platform include: University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, MIT Press, NYU Press, Princeton University Press, and Yale University Press, up till 2023.
Format: Full Text Books
Coverage: 1990 - Present
Database Producer: Oxford University Press.
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, Fine Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas, direct from their computer.
Format: Full Text Journals Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.
Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.
Diaries, letters, autobiographies, memoirs, written & oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, & scholarly commentary.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: US History; Sociology and Anthropology.
The Sixties brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
The database covers subjects in arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resources
Coverage: 1960-1969
Update Schedule: Completed Archive
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references of over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals, 1980- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Anthropology. Area studies. Business. Communication. Criminology. Demography. Economics. Education. Environmental studies. Ergonomics. Ethics. Ethnic studies. Family studies. Geography. Gerontology. Health policy. History. Industrial relations. Information Science & Library Science. International relations. Law. Linguistics. Management. Nursing. Philosophy. Planning and development. Political science. Psychiatry. Psychology. Public administration. Public health. Rehabilitation. Social issues. Social work. Sociology. Substance abuse. Transportation. Urban studies. Women's studies.
ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1980-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Scientific
Social Theory offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization. It features works by such major theorists as Jean Baudrillard, Simone de Beauvoir, Ulrich Beck, Howard Becker, Nancy Chodorow, mile Durkheim, Michel Foucault, Erving Goffman, Robert Merton, and Talcott Parsons.
Format: Full text books
Update Schedule: Updated quarterly
Database Producer: Alexander Street Press
Full text journal articles, indexing & informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies
Sociological Index (SocINDEX) provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.
SocINDEX covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure, 1965- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studiess
Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 523 journals in the collection.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1965-
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences. Open padlock icon indicates full text access.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Science, General
This multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources published by John Wiley covers life, health and physical sciences. This collection indicates full text access by an open padlock icon.
Wiley Online Library includes scientific, technical, medical and professional journals as well as books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. In addition, all Blackwell Synergy electronic journals and backfiles have been merged into the Wiley InterScience collection.
Format: Ebooks and E-journals
Database Producer: Wiley
Scholary vs. Popular Articles
Has your professor said that you have to use a certain number of scholarly articles for a paper, but you're not sure if a given article is scholarly or not? Well, this video provides tips on how to tell the difference between scholarly and popular articles/publications.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
