Indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1951 to the present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies
International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science.
This database contains over 282,000 records from over 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present. Only available on EBSCOhost®, 45,000 of the records are provided via a digitized backfile to Volume One of the print index. Approximately 8,000 new records are added to the database each year. For the first time, all of the bibliographic records in IPSA are now available online back to Volume One, exclusively on EBSCOhost®. This marks the first time that researchers can access IPSA records as far back as 1951. A previous backfile enhancement provided by IPSA records back to 1975, which means that now, EBSCOhost® users have access to all 60 years of IPSA records.
IPSA has provided non-evaluative abstracts in the fields of political science since 1951. Its articles are published in journals and yearbooks all over the world, including the major political science journals.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1951-
Database Producer: International Political Science Association. Distributed by EBSCO Publishing.
Multi-disciplinary Databases that include Political Science
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) contains almost 2.5 million entries for doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database includes citations and full text of materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Since 1997, new publications have been available electronically, and many publications can be ordered through the system for a fee. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities.
Format: Index and full text to Dissertations Dates of Coverage: 1861- Update Schedule: Daily. Database Producer: ProQuest.
Digital library containing over 10 million academic, full text online resources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.
Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General, Fine Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas, direct from their computer.
Format: Full Text Journals Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Digital humanities and social sciences books and journals, from university presses and scholarly societies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: General
Project MUSE is an online archive of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. Project MUSE contains Open Access (OA) content. To see the title list of OA books and journals, click here.
Format: Full Text Journals and eBooks
Database Producer: Johns Hopkins University Press
Please Note: Project MUSE provides access to alumni as well as current members of the Denison community.
Full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press and partner presses, including both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences.
Off Campus Access: Use your Denison ID.
Subject Areas: Humanities, Social Sciences, Economics, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion.
Oxford Scholarship Online is a cross-searchable library containing the full text of important scholarly books from Oxford University Press and partner presses.
Oxford Scholarship Online includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities and social sciences. Subject collections are available in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. New books are added regularly.
These books are also available through the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center, where they are searchable along with books from other publishers.
Partner presses with selected content available on the Oxford Scholarship Online platform include: University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, MIT Press, NYU Press, Princeton University Press, and Yale University Press, up till 2023.
Format: Full Text Books
Coverage: 1990 - Present
Database Producer: Oxford University Press.
Bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references of over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals, 1980- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Anthropology. Area studies. Business. Communication. Criminology. Demography. Economics. Education. Environmental studies. Ergonomics. Ethics. Ethnic studies. Family studies. Geography. Gerontology. Health policy. History. Industrial relations. Information Science & Library Science. International relations. Law. Linguistics. Management. Nursing. Philosophy. Planning and development. Political science. Psychiatry. Psychology. Public administration. Public health. Rehabilitation. Social issues. Social work. Sociology. Substance abuse. Transportation. Urban studies. Women's studies.
ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1980-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Scientific
Multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources, covering life, health and physical sciences. Open padlock icon indicates full text access.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Science, General
This multidisciplinary collection of full text online resources published by John Wiley covers life, health and physical sciences. This collection indicates full text access by an open padlock icon.
Wiley Online Library includes scientific, technical, medical and professional journals as well as books, reference works, laboratory protocols and databases. In addition, all Blackwell Synergy electronic journals and backfiles have been merged into the Wiley InterScience collection.
Format: Ebooks and E-journals
Database Producer: Wiley
This full text collection covers the policy and debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H. W. Bush, both as President and Vice President.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, U. S. History
Bush Presidency and Development and Debate Over Civil Rights Policy and Legislation contains materials on civil rights, the development of civil rights policy, and the debate over civil rights legislation during the administration of President George H.W. Bush and during his tenure as vice president.
Contents of this collection includes memoranda, talking points, correspondence, legal briefs, transcripts, news summaries, draft legislation, statements of administration policy, case histories, legislative histories and news-clippings covering a broad range of civil rights issues.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1989-1991 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Producer: Gale / Cengage
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History
Confidential print: Middle East covers Middle Eastern history from 1812-1958; countries included are: Afghanistan, Egypt, Sudan, Persia, Suez Canal, Turkey, Jordan, Arabia, Iraq, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, and Syria.
The series originated out of a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were one page letters or telegrams -- others were large volumes or texts of treaties.
All items marked 'Confidential Print' were circulated to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad.
Format: Full Text Journals; Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1812-1958 Update Schedule: Completed Archive Database Distributor: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
The most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science, Latin American Studies, Middle East Studies, Asia Studies, Diplomacy, Intelligence
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. This resource now includes over 50 collections.
Format: Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1945 to present Update Schedule: Annual Database Producer: ProQuest
Reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of broadcasts and publications, 1941-1996.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, International Studies
FBIS Daily Reports offers fully searchable reports on foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications.
This database includes to following three collections:
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1941-1974
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports: 1974-1996
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports Annexes: 1974-1996
Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Format: Full Text Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1941 to 1996
Database Producer: Readex
Provides insights into President Kennedys views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
This collection provides insights into President Kennedys views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. There are more than just documents on the Bay of Pigs, Berlin, and Cuba.
There are documents that highlight American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and relations with Latin America, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, foreign aid and military assistance, and the international space race.
Includes 64,126 images from the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library.
Format: Full Text Date range: 1958-1964 Database Producer: Archives Unbound, Gale.
Online archive giving a European perspective to Richard Nixon's entire presidential term.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History; Political Science
The Nixon Years, 1969-1974 covers Richard Nixon's entire presidential term and allows the assessment of his term from a British, European and Commonwealth perspective.
Nixon's handling of numerous Cold War crises, his administration's achievements, as well as his increasingly controversial activities and unorthodox use of executive powers culminating in Watergate and resignation are covered.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resources Dates of Coverage: 1969-1974 Database Producer: AM (Adam Matthew Digital)
Contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices. Keywords: foreign relations
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Political Science
This collection contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices. These files consist of letters of correspondence, memoranda, coversheets, notes, distribution lists, newspaper articles, informational papers, published articles, and reports from the public, the Congress, Bush administration officials, and other various federal agencies primarily regarding American Middle East peace policy and the United States role in the many facets of the Middle East peace process.
Includes collections on the Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy from 19601975.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: History, Political Science
The Vietnam War and American foreign policy, 1960-1975, part of History Vault, consists of collections on the Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy from 19601975. Collections on the Vietnam War cover U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1960-1975 Database Producer: ProQuest/LexisNexis.
A federal legislative history service containing compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Government, History, Political Science, International Studies
ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that makes available thoroughly researched compilations of digital full-text publications relevant to enacted United States public laws. ProQuest Legislative Insight Major Laws is a subset of ProQuest Legislative Insight with content selected to support entry-level study of U.S. History, Political Science, and Government.
ProQuest legislative histories are comprised of fully searchable PDFs of full-text publications generated in the course of congressional lawmaking. These include the full text of the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications that provide background material to aid in the understanding of issues related to the making of the law.
Format: Full text Resources Update Schedule: Daily Database Producer: ProQuest
Access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress, 1824 to present.
Off Campus Access: Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Law, Political Science, U.S. History, Current Events
Previously known as Lexis-Nexis Congressional, ProQuest Congressional Publications offers access to a variety of information by and about the United States Congress.
ProQuest Congressional provides access to:
- Congressional publications from 1824 to the present
- CIS Legislative Histories for public laws going back to 1970
- Bills as they move through the House and Senate
- The Congressional Record and Federal Register
- Information about members and committees
- The National Journal
- Access to testimony in full text from Congressional Hearings, covering the years 1824 to present
Full text of reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Keywords: law
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: U.S. History, Law, Political Science
U.S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1980 and 1981-1994 contains full text of reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.
Format: Full Text, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: 1817-1994
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Miscellaneous Databases/Resources
These databases provide links mostly to scholarly articles and related materials:
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Current Events, U.S. History, Law, Political Science
CQ Researcher provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and continuously online by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.
Format: Full Text Journal
Dates of Coverage: 1991-Present
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: CQ Press, a division of SAGE Publications.
US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion, 1935 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Communication, Political Science, Sociology & Anthropology
Search and retrieve US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
In order to create a personal login with this database, please follow the instructions found here.
Format: Statistical Resources, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
JPRS is an English-language archive of foreign scientific technical, and social science materials.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Political Science, History
Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1994, is an English-language archive of translations, covering foreign scientific technical, and social science materials. With an emphasis on Communist and developing countries, it includes four million pages from more than 130,000 reports.
This is a full-text collection of the reports issued by the Joint Publications Research Service of the United States Central Intelligence Agency.
Format: Full Text Dates of Coverage: 1957-1994 Database Producer: Readex
Access to literature on the left on a wide variety of subjects, 1982 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Economics, Political Science, Women & Gender Studies, History, Philosophy
Left Index provides access to the diversity of literature on the left. Topics covered include politics, economics, the labor movement, ecology and environment, women's studies, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
Format: Index to Journal Articles, full text and abstracts Dates of Coverage: 1982 to present Database Producer: National Information Services Corporation (NISC).
Full-text database of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: all
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 250 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. The database also offers guides to debate, developing arguments, and writing position papers.
Format: Full text papers.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Over 225,000 data series measuring information about people, places, and policies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subjects: Political Science, Data Analytics, Economics, History, Sociology / Anthropology
U.S. Political Stats contains over 225,000 data series--or data measures over time about people, places, and policies--across 10 distinct political science data categories, aligned with a political science curriculum.
The data series span as far back as 1982, and are updated on a timely basis in accordance with the collection and publication schedules of original sources. Detailed source information, with links where applicable, is provided for every data series.
Format: Data Sets and Data Series
Dates of Coverage: 1982 to present
Database Distributor: CQ Press
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
Has your professor said that you have to use a certain number of scholarly articles for a paper, but you're not sure if a given article is scholarly or not? Well, this video provides tips on how to tell the difference between scholarly and popular articles/publications.
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
