SA 100 - People, Culture, and Society (Spring 2011) - Anthropology & Sociology - Old Course Guides - LibGuides at Denison University Libraries

Reference Resources

These resources provide background information on people, terms and concepts.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society (2008)
This encyclopedia is arranged with nearly 600 entries in alphabetical order. The individual essays range in length from 500 to 6,000 words (118 entries are more than 2,000 words), accompanied by more than 200 visuals, including photographs, tables, figures, and maps.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
It focuses on the biggest and most influential area of anthropology, generally known as cultural anthropology in North America and social anthropology (or ethnology) in Europe.
Limited to one user at a time.
Encyclopedia of Sociology Research (2012)
Topics discussed include social capital, entrepreneurial capital and economic growth; disruption of social development in children with autism spectrum disorders; children's social interactions in cultural context; everyday theorizing and the construction of knowledge; participation, pedagogy and practice in design education; community participation in formulating sustainable forest policy; increasing the economic sustainability of online communities and a comparison between theoretical and naive definitions of community.

Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Includes Annual Review of Anthropology and Annual Review of Sociology.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General, Biology, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Economics, Physics & Astronomy, Math, Environmental Studies, Geosciences, Psychology, Sociology & Anthropology, Computer Science , Law, Medicine, Political Science.

Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, Economics, and Social Sciences.

Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: Varies by title
Database Producer: Annual Reviews
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Includes American Anthropologist and City & Society.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Sociology/Anthropology

AnthroSource is the premier online portal serving the research, teaching and practicing needs of anthropologists.

An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), it offers access to more than 100 years of anthropological knowledge.

AnthroSource provides current content from AAA's portfolio of 32 anthropological publications which includes journals, books, monographs, bulletins and newsletters.

Format: Full text
Database Distributor: Wiley
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database, but can limit search by discipline (e.g. anthropology, sociology); includes American Journal of Sociology, American Anthropologist, Social Forces, and American Sociological Review.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Good database for finding subsequent articles that cite a given article.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies

Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Anthropology. Area studies. Business. Communication. Criminology. Demography. Economics. Education. Environmental studies. Ergonomics. Ethics. Ethnic studies. Family studies. Geography. Gerontology. Health policy. History. Industrial relations. Information Science & Library Science. International relations. Law. Linguistics. Management. Nursing. Philosophy. Planning and development. Political science. Psychiatry. Psychology. Public administration. Public health. Rehabilitation. Social issues. Social work. Sociology. Substance abuse. Transportation. Urban studies. Women's studies.

ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1980-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Scientific
SocINDEX (Sociological Index) with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes American Journal of Sociology, City & Society, and American Sociological Review.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies

Sociological Index (SocINDEX) provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.

SocINDEX covers all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.

Citation Tools

Either of the following tools will help you organize your citations and generate bibliographies.

RefWorks - "Your Online Personal Database and Bibliography Creator" is a citation-making service, provided via OhioLINK. For information on how to use RefWorks, see the Online Tutorial.

Zotero - is an open-source tool accessible from the web. There are useful tutorials for getting starting and maximizing this resource. Zotero works on Firefox and needs to be installed on your computer.

Other relevant resources:

Bedford/St. Martin's: Research & Documentation Online by Diana Hacker. This site provides citation guidelines for the humanities, social sciences, history, and sciences. Choose the appropriate discipline, then click "Documenting Sources" for citation help.

APA Style Guide from Purdue University. APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.