The purpose of Adolescents in America: An Encyclopedia is to present the best information currently available about the physical, psychological, behavioral, social, and cultural characteristics of the adolescent period.
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Statistics, Economics, Political Science, International Studies
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative, comprehensive one-volume summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: All Subjects
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers unmatched full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Format: Full Text, Index and Abstracts
Dates of Coverage: 1887 - Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
Indexes core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in education, 1983 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Education, Library Science
Education Full Text indexes core international periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks in education. Topics include a wide range of contemporary education issues, including government funding, instructional media, multicultural education, religious education, student counseling, competency-based, and information technology. This database cites articles in English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English language books related to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Dates of Coverage: 1983- Update Schedule: Monthly. Database Producer: Ebsco and H.W. Wilson Company.
Database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Education, Library Science
Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,800 journals, as well as full text for more than 1000 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 130 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Education, Library Science
ERIC indexes education-related literature, beginning in 1966. The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1966-
Update Schedule: Monthly.
Database Producer: Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC), a program of the U.S. Department of Education / EBSCOHost
Collection of education journals (including peer-reviewed titles), and educational reports.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.
Subject Areas: Education
Professional Development Collection is designed for professional educators. It provides a highly specialized collection of education journals (including peer-reviewed titles), and educational reports. Examples of titles offered in Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others.
The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.
Format: Full text Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1965-
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
Database Search Tips
Use the following terms/tools when searching:
AND (fewer results) ex. adolescents AND suicide
OR (expanded results) ex. adolescents or teenagers
* truncation symbol for keyword variants ex. overschedul* will retrieve overschedule, overscheduled, and overscheduling.
"quotation marks" to search a phrase ex. "drug use"
Denison Libraries, 100 W College, Granville, Ohio 43023
Phone: 740-587-6235, email: reference@denison.edu
In order to view PDF documents, you will need to have the free Adobe Acrobat Reader software installed on your computer
