ECON 423 International Trade (Fall 2010) - Economics - Old Course Guides - LibGuides at Denison University Libraries

Sources for Statistics and Data

Foreign Trade (U.S. Census Bureau)
The official source for U.S. export and import statistics. Click on 'Data' tab. Under 'More Data,' see 'Balance by Partner Country,' and 'Country/Product Trade.'
International Trade Centre
The ITC is the joint agency of the World Trade Organization and the United Nations.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States (pre-2013)
U.N. Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)
Annual international trade statistics for over 130 countries, detailed by commodity and partner country.
International Trade Statistics
A product of the World Trade Organization, this page offers access to the WTO statistics database and to selected materials from the annual publication International trade statistics. The WTO Statistics Database allows you to either compair the trade profiles of various countries selected from a pull down menue or to retrieve time series statistics for topics by country. International trade statistics is available from 1998.
World Development Indicators
Major data source on the global economy, includes statistical data for over 600 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2004 for over 200 countries.

Sources for Scholarly Articles/Resources

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text journals and books in business, marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance & economics.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Economics

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing bibliographic and full text content.

Business Source Complete provides full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

Business Source Complete contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886, searchable cited references for many journals, and detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1886 to Present
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: EBSCO
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association, 1969- .
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Economics

EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers licensed from the Cambridge University Press Abstracts of Working Papers in Economics.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1969-
Update Schedule: monthly
Database Producer: American Economic Association
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database that includes economics. (Note: JSTOR has a 3 to 5 year moving wall, which means that any given title will not include the most recent 3 to 5 years, though it is possible that more recent issues of a given title can be found in one of our other databases.)
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

The JSTOR Archive is a digital collection of eBooks and academic journals, which extend back to the first volume published. This digital library is particularly strong in the humanities, but covers all subject areas. The database itself supports data and text mining as well. For additional information, visit the JSTOR Research Guides.
Please note, Artstor is now a part of JSTOR. Looking for ways to use Artstor in JSTOR? Visit Artstor on JSTOR Guides.

Format: Full Text
Dates of Coverage: Vary by title
Update Schedule: Annual
Database Distributor: JSTOR
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Good resource for finding more recent articles that cite a previous article.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Economics, Education, Physical Education, International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Political Science, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Queer Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Women's Studies

Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI Web of Science) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines, plus individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Anthropology. Area studies. Business. Communication. Criminology. Demography. Economics. Education. Environmental studies. Ergonomics. Ethics. Ethnic studies. Family studies. Geography. Gerontology. Health policy. History. Industrial relations. Information Science & Library Science. International relations. Law. Linguistics. Management. Nursing. Philosophy. Planning and development. Political science. Psychiatry. Psychology. Public administration. Public health. Rehabilitation. Social issues. Social work. Sociology. Substance abuse. Transportation. Urban studies. Women's studies.

ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1980-
Update Schedule: Weekly
Database Producer: Thomson Scientific

Citing Government Information Sources

Statistics and data tend to come from government resources. These links include examples of how to cite things like statistical tables.

Statistical Tables Citations

Citation Tools

The following tools will help you organize your citations and generate bibliographies.

RefWorks - "Your Online Personal Database and Bibliography Creator" is a citation-making service, provided via OhioLINK. For information on how to use RefWorks, see the Online Tutorial.

Zotero - is an open-source tool accessible from the web. There are useful tutorials for getting starting and maximizing this resource. Zotero works on Firefox and needs to be installed on your computer.