LibGuides: COMM 130: Freedom of Speech (Fall 2017): Home

Topic Overview and Other Resources

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: General

Gale eBooks (formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)) provides online access to over 3,000 reference books in all subject areas.

Format: Full Text Books
Database Producer: Gale Cengage.
IPoll databank @ the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new window
US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion, 1935 to present.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Political Science, Sociology & Anthropology

Search and retrieve US public opinion data from the comprehensive archives of the Roper Center for Public Opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.
In order to create a personal login with this database, please follow the instructions found here.

Format: Statistical Resources, Archival Resources
Dates of Coverage: Varies
Update Schedule: Regularly
Database Producer: Roper Center for Public Opinion Research

American Decades 2000-2009
Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the fascinating details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology and social trends.
American Decades 1900-1999 (print resources)
Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the fascinating details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology and social trends
Biography Reference Bank
Freedom of Speech in the United States (your textbook)
Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
The organization produces a variety of potentially useful publications, including The First Amendment Handbook, as well as its quarterly magazine, The News Media and the Law. (Note: While back issues can be browsed on the organization's Web site, the magazine can be searched through the Communication & Mass Media Complete database.)

The News

Some of the most useful sources for locating news reports on court cases are listed below.

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1998 This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 1,000 newspapers published between 1690 and 1998.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: U.S. History

America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1998, including titles from all 50 states.

Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

This online archive includes:
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1-12
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
- Ethnic American Newspapers, 1799-1971
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980

Format: Full Text, Newspapers
Dates of Coverage: 1690-1998
Database Producer: Readex
Collection: Part of the "Archive of Americana"
Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Defender is a leading African-American newspaper. This is an excellent place to look for the Midwestern African-American view of events and policies.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Black Studies, Mass Media, Communication

The Chicago Defender ( 1909-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of this leading African-American newspaper.

The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Issues of the Chicago Defender from 1999 to the present can also be found at the Ethnic NewsWatch database.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage:1909-1975
Update Schedule: Complete Archive
Database Producer: ProQuest
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. keywords: newspapers
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: International Studies, Sociology & Anthropology, Women's Studies, Asian Studies, Black Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Dates of Coverage: 1990-
Database Producer: ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Current Events, Mass Media

Newspaper Source contains selected full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six news-wires, nine newspaper columns, and cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times. This database also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Format: Index to Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily.
Database Producer: EBSCO Publishing.
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
New York Times articles, from 1851 to three years ago.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Mass Media, U.S. History

Full page images of the New York Times newspaper, dating from 1851 to three years ago.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1851-three years ago (moving wall)
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Pittsburgh Courier (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text for this African-American newspaper, 1911-2002.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Black Studies, Communication, Mass Media

ProQuest's Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) offers full page and article images with searchable full text for this African-American newspaper. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.

Format: Full Text Journals
Dates of Coverage: 1911-2002
Database Producer: ProQuest / Chadwyck-Healey.
Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, 1968 - present. keywords: mass media, current events
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Communication, Mass Media, Current Events

Television News Archive is an archive of television news, containing descriptions and abstracts of 725,000 broadcast news stories from 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since 1989.

Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape for a fee.

Format: Digital Media
Dates of Coverage: 1968-
Database Producer: Vanderbilt University Television News Archive.

Time Magazine
Back to 1923.

Court Cases

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is a comprehensive law research database that contains more than 2,200 law journals.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Subject Areas: Law

HeinOnline includes more than 2,200 law journals, entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents. To learn more about each collection, visit HeinOnline's Libguides .

Our current subscriptions in this database:
Law Journal Library
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Executive Privilege
Federal Register Library
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
History of International Law
History of Supreme Court Nominations
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Description of Law Academy Project
Law Academy Project
Law Library of Congress Reports
Description of Legal Classics Legal Classics
LGBTQ+ Rights
Military and Government
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
Water Rights & Resources
Women and the Law (Peggy)
World Constitutions Illustrated

Want to personalize HeinOnline? Read more about MyHein. With MyHein, you can create your own account and bookmark articles, save your searches, and more.

Format: full text
Database Distributor: William S. Hein
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, legal, medical, & reference information from nearly 5,000 sources.
Off Campus Access: Authenticate with your MyDenison login.

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information from nearly 5,000 sources, most of them available in full text.

The service covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Subject Areas: General, Law, Political Science, Current Events

Format: Newspaper and Journal Articles
Update Schedule: Daily
Database Producer: LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.

Google Scholar
Google database focusing on scholarly research.
CourtListener
From the Free Law Project, CourtListener is a free legal research website containing millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts; also includes the RECAP Archive, a database of millions of dockets and documents filed in federal court cases.
Supreme Court Collection (Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute)
This site, maintained by Cornell University Law School's Legal Information Institute, offers Supreme Court decisions from the early court through the present; searchable by topic, author (i.e. justice who wrote the opinion), and party (to the case).

Note: Coverage prior to 1990 may not be complete for all times or topics
Supreme Court Decisions (1937-1975)
Search and View Full Text of Supreme Court Decisions
Issued between 1937 and 1975
The Oyez Project
Audio (and transcript) archive of oral arguments before the Supreme Court, from as far back as 1955.
United States Reports
This is the only currently accepted "official" version of the Supreme Court decisions. According to the Supreme Court "In case of discrepancies between a bound volume and the materials included here (on their web site)--or any other version of the same materials, whether print or electronic, official or unofficial--the printed bound volume controls."